Loss and Lesson (In A Sea of Gray #13)

IMG_4686

It’s 3:10 pm on a Saturday and I’m so damn miserable,

Some days you wake up knowing just how bad it’s going to be,

That no matter how hard you fight it,

Downtrodden and sad and lonely are all you’re ever going to feel.


I’m not saying that it’s like this every day,

But weekends do hit me hard the most—

Wondering where you are, what you’re doing, who you’re with,

What you’re feeling, thinking, and if I ever still cross your mind.


I do my best holding on to better days and better feelings,

As fleeting as they may all be, it’s what I can do to save what’s left of me,

But it’s just on these days, times when the misery and pain have won,

When I can’t help but dwell more on the loss, and not on the lesson.

2 comments

  1. AMusingWright · · Reply

    “When I can’t help but dwell more on the loss, and not on the lesson.” – I love this line. ’tis bittersweet.

    1. Thanks so much! And yes, still battling through the loss/lesson dilemma.

Leave a Reply

