My 27th B-ART-hday Celebration (27 Things #1)

Birthdays are a big deal in my world, especially if it’s mine. Heh.

I’ve been stressing for months on how to celebrate my birthday. My goal? To be happy. And that’s quite a tough one to pull off with everything that’s been happening and has happened in the past months. I’ve thought of taking a solo trip, going out of town with friends, going to a theme park, some happy drinking, etc etc etc. But with everything else I was taking care of, I just didn’t have enough time to really plan things out. Okay, admittedly, I also didn’t have a humongous budget for it. But lo and behold a light bulb moment came to me when I thought of heading to Pinto Art Museum.

It was the perfect time for me to head there but given that my birthday fell on a weekday, not a lot of my friends would be able to come with. Then again I realized that I only need my bestest friend there with me. So naturally, I talked her (okay, I guilt tripped her) into taking a leave of absence from work, and she did!

Suffice it to say, it was mission accomplished on my part. I was happy on my birthday. And that’s really a big thing for me to say with the gravity of what I was (still am) dealing with. Pinto Art Museum was so worth the 1 hour-ish drive and the afternoon heat, especially since I spent it laughing and taking pictures with my best friend. Seriously though, it is a haven for contemporary art lovers and just the whole setting of it all–open spaces and so close to nature–made it all the more beautiful and enriching. I’m not saying I’m an art expert but I do know how to appreciate a well-curated display.

Seeing the “Oblivion” installation (the one with the lovers made of wires) made everything so worth my while. I almost teared up seeing that one up close. Also, I fell in love with Eleanor Giron’s special exhibit named “Modern Love.” You’ll recognize it in my photos below as the paintings with a rather sexual tone to it.

I couldn’t say enough how amazing Pinto Art Museum was, and to have been there on my special day made my day, well, more special. So do prepare for some major photo dumping below. And hey, this post officially marks the beginning of my “27 Things @ 27” series! So that’s 26 more random stuff posts to go.

IMG_0090

IMG_0093

IMG_7675

IMG_7681

IMG_7685

IMG_7689

IMG_7697

IMG_7708

IMG_7703

IMG_7723

IMG_7720

IMG_7741

IMG_7755

IMG_7764

IMG_7775

IMG_7780

IMG_7784

IMG_7794

IMG_7798

IMG_7803

IMG_7857

IMG_7861

IMG_7875

IMG_7878

IMG_7880

IMG_7888

IMG_7891

IMG_7911

IMG_7926

Leave a Reply

