Series Round-Up: The Coincidence Series by Jessica Sorensen

callie-kayden

The Coincidence Series by Jessica Sorensen

Just keeping this short: The first blew me away and the second one was kinda meh.

16113791

The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden (#1)

BOOK BLURB:

There are those who don’t get luck handed to them on a shiny platter, who end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, who don’t get saved.

Luck was not on Callie’s side the day of her twelfth birthday when everything was stolen from her. After it’s all over, she locks up her feelings and vows never to tell anyone what happened. Six years later her painful past consumes her life and most days it’s a struggle just to breathe.

For as long as Kayden can remember, suffering in silence was the only way to survive life. As long as he did what he was told, everything was okay. One night, after making a terrible mistake, it seems like his life might be over. Luck was on his side, though, when Callie coincidentally is in the right place at the right time and saves him.

Now he can’t stop thinking about the girl he saw at school, but never really knew. When he ends up at the same college as Callie, he does everything he can to try to get to know her. But Callie is reserved and closed off. The more he tries to be part of her life, the more he realizes Callie might need to be saved.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — This story about two broken souls seriously blew me away. You really can’t help but feel so much for both Callie and Kayden.

“In the existence of our lives, there is a single coincidence that brings us together and for a moment, our hearts beat as one.” 

Along the lines of Easy by Tammara Webber and Hopeless by Colleen Hoover, I instantly fell in love with the flow, characters, and storyline of this book!

Again, it’s all about the build-up of the relationship as well as how the author addresses the main plot in a way that makes it realistic, believable, and relatable. I almost didn’t read this one because I was really disappointed with “The Secret of Ella and Micha”, but thank God I did because I was seriously impressed with this one. And how can you not fall in-love with Kayden? Ohmylordy ♥__♥ His POV is probably one of my favorite guy POVs in addition to Aiden St. Delphi’s in Elixir.

I do have to warn anyone who intends to read this book about the major cliffhanger. I actually went ahead and read the ending in order to prepare myself for the inevitable feeling of uhm… extreme pain. Can’t wait for part 2 of this book!!! 🙂

17147503

The Redemption of Callie & Kayden (#2)

BOOK BLURB:

The dark secret Kayden has kept hidden for years is out. Worse, he’s facing charges for battery. The only way he stands a chance against the charges is if Callie speaks up, something he’ll never ask her to do.

Callie knows Kayden is going back to his dark place and desperately wants to save him. But saving him means admitting her secrets aloud. Callie and Kayden are stronger than they think, especially when they’re together. Together they move forward, face their demons, and finally start to heal from their traumatic pasts.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 4/5 — It’s actually more like 3.5-4. Like what I said, this just didn’t live up to par with the first one but it’s still a worthwhile read. 

But now, with him, everything inside me has changed and my heart and soul aren’t so shadowed anymore. He is my light and I hope one day that I can be his. —Callie

“Before you, there was just pain and emptiness and I really didn’t care if I lived or died. I was just there, existing at the surface of the water, not quite drowning but not quite able to breathe. And then you came along and I could finally breathe.” —Kayden

It feels like I’ve waited so long for this because I completely adored the first book and of course, there’s that jaw-dropping mother of all cliffhangers. So I’m not sure if it’s because of how much I loved the first book or if I just had high expectations but for some reason, I felt that this one was kind of a letdown. I think I just liked how the first one was more well structured and the way the story developed just made more sense as well.

***spoiler review ahead***

The story picks up right from the cliffhanger and we see Kayden in the hospital and Callie’s… not beside him. I’m pretty sure I’ve read a teaser that Jessica Sorensen released before wherein Callie went inside Kayden’s room and she actually confronted him about what happened… but surprise surprise, she took this scene out and instead chose to make them reunite weeks after the incident. To cut the story short, the first half of the book really annoyed the living daylights out of me. I guess I just didn’t understand why Callie didn’t make more effort in seeing Kayden’s condition in person and why Kayden wouldn’t want to be comforted by Callie physically as well. I know they had their reasons but I felt that their actions were very unbecoming of the connection and relationship that they’d established in the first book. I just kept wishing for both of them to just speak out once and for all but of course, there had to be some angst so they kept on second-guessing themselves and their strength.

Thank heavens things got better in the second half. The pacing and the story picked up and both Kayden and Callie finally mellowed down with their push and pull. Callie was actually the one who was stronger and more determined this time, which was kind of refreshing because it was now the guy who needed a backbone and someone to rely on and understand him. Luke and Seth also provided the perfect support group for the both of them and if not for their help and guidance, Callie and Kayden probably wouldn’t have found their way back to each other again. I also completely loathed both Callie and Kayden’s mothers and boy was I glad they decided to just run away from all the poison in their lives even for just a couple of days. Things started really picked up when they decided once and for all to be together through good and bad as well as to let it all out in the open.

And alas, Callie and Kayden did find their happy ever after BUT I do think they deserved a much better HEA than that. Things were both resolved and unresolved in the end but I am VERY curious as to how Luke and Violet’s story will turn out in the third book in this series. But needless to say, this was a good second part of Callie and Kayden’s story but it did not just live up to the greatness of the first one in my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

