Book Spotlight: Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

17671483

Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

BOOK BLURB:

Infinite possibilities….
Infinite passion…..
Infinite danger….

His touch spirals through me, warm and sweet, wicked and hot. I shouldn’t trust him. I shouldn’t tell him my secrets. But how do I not when he is the reason I breathe? He is what I need.

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run.

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 3/5 — This story thoroughly captivated me but it also left me devastated with so many unanswered questions. It actually felt more like a prequel novella than a full length novel.

“I guess ghosts are like lies. They swim like sharks all around me.”

“Sharks only have the power you give them, baby. Own them. Don’t ever let them own you. And they’ll have to fight me to get to you anyway.” 

HOLY MOTHER OF ALL QUESTIONS LEFT UNANSWERED!!! What just happened? Believe me when I say that I wanted so bad to give this book a much higher rating because for one, it kept me guessing and I found myself questioning a lot of things BUT instead of ending on an earth-shattering cliffhanger, it just felt like an unfinished story for me.

Amy Bensen is hiding from someone who wants her dead and on her way to rebuilding a new life, she meets Liam Stone—hot and mysterious billionaire and well-known architect. Of course they have this unyielding attraction and chemistry between them, which the book focused on mostly and while I appreciated all the steamy, swoony, and sweet moments that happened… I really wished we got more lead instead to the mystery of Amy’s past as well as what Liam has to do with it, IF he has something to do with it. If you’re looking for a book that would really get your curiosity going, then this is a great pick for you because if anything, it did excel in making you crave for answers. What I didn’t appreciate was the fact that there wasn’t any hint of solid answers and the fact that it ended on an anti-climactic cliffhanger. I seriously asked myself…“Wait, that’s it??” I’m not a huge cliffhanger-hater, especially when it’s developed perfectly and well justified but it felt like the book just suddenly decided to stop when it should’ve continued on a bit, but hey I’m not an author so this is just my opinion as an avid reader.

Liam Stone was one hot mother-effer and I did feel for Amy at times but mostly, the character development and dynamics felt a wee bit flat for me. I guess I was just looking for more depth and substance given the fact that this was a mystery-themed novel. But amidst all the shortcomings I found, I still can’t help but be curious with what’s in store in the sequel because gaddameet… I NEED AND WANT ANSWERS!!! Like what I said, the story did fell short of something that could’ve been mindblowing but it still did pique my curiosity and interest enough to make me want to read the next book. I just really, REALLY wish that the next book would really be a much better one in all aspects that matter and I guess I’ll just have to treat this one as a sort of prequel novella instead.

***ARC received from Netgalley, Julie Patra Publishing, and Lisa Renee Jones in exchange for an honest review.***

Leave a Reply

