Book Spotlight: Killing Sarai (In the Company of Killers #1) by J.A. Redmerski

18052619

Killing Sarai (In the Company of Killers #1) by J.A. Redmerski

BOOK BLURB:

Sarai was only fourteen when her mother uprooted her to live in Mexico with a notorious drug lord. Over time she forgot what it was like to live a normal life, but she never let go of her hope to escape the compound where she has been held for the past nine years.

Victor is a cold-blooded assassin who, like Sarai, has known only death and violence since he was a young boy. When Victor arrives at the compound to collect details and payment for a hit, Sarai sees him as her only opportunity for escape. But things don’t go as planned and instead of finding transport back to Tucson, she finds herself free from one dangerous man and caught in the clutches of another.

While on the run, Victor strays from his primal nature as he succumbs to his conscience and resolves to help Sarai. As they grow closer, he finds himself willing to risk everything to keep her alive; even his relationship with his devoted brother and liaison, Niklas, who now like everyone else wants Sarai dead.

As Victor and Sarai slowly build a trust, the differences between them seem to lessen, and an unlikely attraction intensifies. But Victor’s brutal skills and experience may not be enough in the end to save her, as the power she unknowingly holds over him may ultimately be what gets her killed.

This is their story…

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Fast-paced. Gripping. Captivating. Definite must-read!

Victor Faust did much more than help me escape a life of abuse and servitude. He changed me. He changed the landscape of my dreams, the dreams I had every day about living ordinarily and free and on my own. He changed the colors on the palette from primary to rainbow–as dark as the colors of that rainbow may be–and not a day goes by that I don’t think about him or about the life I could’ve had with him. 

Fast-paced. Gripping. Heart-stopping.

Just based on the cover, I honestly thought I would be dealing with a Dark Duets-ish kind of story. I kind of expected Victor to be this rogue and dirty killer instead of someone who wears a three-piece suit during his high-priced missions. I also assumed that Sarai would be this fragile little thing instead of a strong-willed and brave young woman. But thank God I was so wrong with my assumptions and expectations because I thoroughly enjoyed both characters immensely and I truly devoured each single page of this beautifully-written story.

The story started out strong and I feared that it would soon lose its pacing and that I would get bored somewhere in the middle but that did not happen at all. I swear, I didn’t even notice that I was already beyond half of the book because of how fast-paced the story was and how it kept me constantly guessing because I just can’t predict what would happen to both Victor and Sarai. I appreciated the fact that JA Redmerski didn’t make this just about the romance… in fact, I appreciated the fact that she kind of just wrote the sex scenes in a sort of fade-to-black way instead of elaborating too much because it really wouldn’t have fitted the story’s pacing and development. I did wish for more tender moments between Victor and Sarai but I guess, it wouldn’t be realistic for Victor’s personality and character as well. I also loved that there are two POVs because in stories like these, it’s really vital to get inside the mind of the guy as well… especially someone as complicated and mysterious as Victor Faust.

I won’t kill Sarai and I’ll do everything in my power to make sure that no one else (in the mansion) does, either, but deep down I know that what my brother said is true. I should kill her for my sake and hers. But I can’t. And I won’t. 

It’s been quite a while since a story sucked me in because of the action and not because of the romance aspect and it’s quite refreshing actually. I honestly wouldn’t have minded if the romance developed a little later on or perhaps in the second book but seeing Victor soften was quite endearing and of course, swoony… well as swoony as it can get with a cold-blooded killer. I’m really excited for the next book and I’m looking forward to more “missions” and the undeniable chemistry between Victor and Sarai.

AND since I’m on a Divergent high, Theo James and Shailene Woodley are also my casting for Victor Faust and Sarai/Izabel:

theo-shailene

Leave a Reply

