Book Spotlight: The Only Exception by Magan Vernon

17206230

The Only Exception by Magan Vernon

BOOK BLURB:

Fiercely liberal Monica Remy prefers to blend in. Despite her tattoos, piercings, and outspoken personality, she transferred to Central to escape—before she finds out that her next door neighbor is the uber conservative governor’s son, Trey Chapman.

No matter how hard she tries to avoid Trey, he still finds a way to get under her skin. Monica can’t stand his crisp white shirts or his staunch views on women. But she can’t help counting every freckle on his face and wondering what it would feel like to have him stop talking politics and kiss her.

A class debate project forces the unlikely pair to work together, and the political lines are blurred in late-night make out sessions. But despite their fiery chemistry, Trey’s politics threatens to smother their relationship for good.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 3/5 — This was an interesting new adult novel but I think it fell short of what could’ve been a very substantial story. 

I honestly didn’t like how this story started. But I’m glad that I forged on and continue reading anyway because the story did pick up somewhere in the middle. I guess I was kinda surprised with how fast Trey and Monica’s relationship developed and how easily Monica caved into Trey’s charms. I would’ve thought that she would give him a much harder time than that given their back and forth political banter and debate, but I guess if a guy did pester you relentlessly and shower you with dozens of red roses, there’s just so much your strong will can take. One of the things that really griped me was the usage of very formal language and that whole “Miss Remy” thing. Because of all those, I didn’t feel much heart at the beginning of the story.

Thank goodness the story did develop and progress, especially during Trey and Monica’s visit to the governor’s house. I loved the moments when Trey seemed more like a sweet boyfriend than a governor’s son to Monica. For some reason, I especially loved their big fight. I think it brought out all the issues in the story, wherein how their different strong views on politics played into their personal relationship. Monica also did a good job of being truthful to Trey early on instead of delaying and skirting away from the issue till it became a huge problem for them. Of course, Trey handled it perfectly as well.

Even though I would’ve wanted for them to have their huge debate in the end, I really enjoyed their arguments early on with regards to contraception especially because it’s such a huge issue in my country right now as well. I think they both gave clear and concise arguments but in the end, it will all really boil down to giving women the choice. And in my honest opinion, that conclusion was really the best thing that I got from reading this novel.

Leave a Reply

