Series Round-Up: A Neighbor From Hell Series by R.L. Mathewson

neighbor-from-hell

A Neighbor From Hell Series by R.L. Mathewson

Possibly the second funniest series next to Chocolate Lovers by Tara Sivec but compared to that series, I actually loved both books in A Neighbor From Hell series and the second was even funnier than the first one as opposed to Chocolate Lovers where the second book didn’t exactly live up to the epic-ness of its predecessor. I’m aware that there’s a third book but based on the reviews, it seems like it didn’t really live up to the first two so I still haven’t read it but I intend to sometime in the future. I’m keeping it with the two books for now and I just really have to say how much I adored these and the craziness brought by the Bradford boys.

playing-for-keeps

Playing For Keeps (#1)

BOOK BLURB:

Done with being the world’s biggest pushover, Haley decides that things are going to change starting with the aggravating neighbor who has too much charm and not enough restraint. What she didn’t expect was to be sucked into his world, but Haley has a game plan and she won’t let herself forget just what the bad boy next door is capable of.

The last thing Jason expected was for his little shy neighbor to go Rambo on him over some ruined flowers. After he decides to take her under his wing he can’t help but notice that she fits very nicely in his life. Now the only thing left is to convince her that this is anything but a game.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Funny as hell! That’s all you need to know, really.

FUNNIEST.SCENE.EVER:

“Oh thank God you’re here, Haley!” Jason said, sounding happy for someone who was tied to her bed, wearing only a pair of boxers. “I know you said it turns you on knowing I’m tied to your bed waiting for you, but I really need to use the bathroom and stretch my legs before we begin….,” his voice trailed off when he caught sight of Jonathan.

Jason sighed dramatically. “I thought we agreed that you would tell me ahead of time before you added someone to our bed.” With a roll of his eyes he said,“It’s fine this time. Lucky for you I think we have plenty of lube.” He looked thoughtfully at Jonathan who was still staring at Jason dumbly. “I hope you’re not a screamer. The last guy screamed his head off ever time I–“

“You’re sick!” Jonathan cried, cutting Jason off. “Stay away from me and don’t try to call me either. I’m telling my mother about you.” 

I KNOW I basically wrote the entire excerpt but it really made me laugh my ass off. This scene was just pure genius! And I don’t know why it took so long for me to take a chance on this book. This was the perfect sexy rom-com read that I’ve been needing after all the angsty novels I’ve been burying myself into recently. I’m feeling pretty generous that’s why I gave this a 5-star rating. I think for a romantic comedy-type of novel, it really accomplished its job in engaging the reader.

Jason is Haley’s “Neighbor from Hell” and after 5 years of enduring all his hell-ish ways, she finally had the guts to stand her ground against him. From that one unfortunate encounter that involved a swarm of bees, they easily fell into becoming the best of friends. I really enjoyed all their wacky, funny, and endearing moments when they became good friends. I really loved their witty banter because I actually found myself relating to the dynamics of their relationship with my own guy best friend as well, with whom it felt like I had a boyfriend without the relationship (yes, I got that from the book). My friendship with this guy did also involve a lot of food, pranks, and so on, and that’s why I found Jason and Haley’s day to day encounters very refreshing and real. Oh and let’s not forget the fact that they can’t sleep without cuddling each other. I mean how cute is that!!! Of course, it was inevitable for them to eventually have deep feelings for each other and the way it came about was so sweet, especially since it was Jason who expressed his intentions.

There was also just enough angst that made me tear up a bit but all is good since the humor in this story basically owned it. My heart also basically turned to mush with that epilogue. I loved the rest of the supporting characters as well, especially grandma, Brian, Mark (although I did want to kick his ass before), and the rest of Jason’s family. This is a definite must-read for those looking for a good break from angsty and heavily dramatic stories!!!

perfection

Perfection (#2)

BOOK BLURB:

Zoe is used to taking care of herself and has long ago accepted that if anything bad was going to happen, it was going to happen to her. So when she loses her job over something most bosses would probably be happy with and her life starts going down hill from there she doesn’t expect it to get any better. She certainly didn’t expect any help from the loud jerk next door, but then again she has nothing to lose so puts her trust in him and hopes for the best. What she didn’t expect was the once in a lifetime opportunity that he offers her through an arrangement where they both benefit and no one is supposed to get hurt, but she should have known better because her luck has never been that good.

Like most Bradfords, Trevor has a soft spot for food, but that’s about all. He leads a pretty straightforward life and likes to keep things simple and that includes his relationships. He wants the perfect woman and knows exactly what she’ll be like. So when he discovers much to his horror that he’s thinking about his frumpy little neighbor he decides the best way to get his head straight is by working her out of his system. He’ll keep her around, but only until he finds perfection.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Even way funnier as hell than the first one. Again, that’s all you need to know.

Funny as hell. Batshit crazy and wacky characters. AND I LOVE IT!!!

Next to Seduction & Snacks, this probably has to be the next funniest book I’ve ever read. I just loved every part of it. I actually did like this one more than the first book because I think we see more progression and development when it came to Trevor and Zoe’s relationship. So of course they started out as neighbours but Trevor was actually Zoe’s tenant and then because of a food predicament (of course it had something to do with food), they ended up having a rather civil relationship that turned into a mutually beneficial relationship… and then some.

Gawd, I just can’t get enough of the craziness and wackiness of the Bradford boys. We get to see a fair amount of Jason and Haley here as well as the rest of the Bradford brood. I swear I could read a book devoted to just the Bradford boys and their unhealthy passionate obsession with food. There were more laugh out loud scenes here as well as swoon-worthy moments between Trevor and Zoe. I actually liked the fact that they did not start out instantly attracted to each other but then they did develop real feelings that went beyond their little “arrangement”. I think a lot of women will also like the fact that Zoe wasn’t your typical thin, sexy, and tall leading lady but rather a little chubby and curvy-licious. I wanted to smack Trevor a couple of times on the head because he didn’t really do anything at first to alleviate Zoe’s insecurities and her unhealthy starvation diet but then of course he finally got his head in place and became the man Zoe needed him to be. And the best part about this? This had much less angst than the first book as well! The whole funny and wacky scenes here actually kinda reminded me of Friends, which of course is my most favorite sit-com of all time.

Dearest Trevor Bradford, you are on crazy and funny-as-hell sonuvabitch and I love you. And just to give you a hint of his wackiness and sweetness all rolled into one hot package:

“I may have let you have your naughty little way with me for the past couple of months, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to allow you to keep treating me like some dirty little boy toy. If you want to live with me then I expect you to put a ring on my finger.”

“Naughty little… oh my god, you really are insane.”

“Probably, but don’t worry I doubt it’s hereditary so the baby should be fine.” 

Trust me after you read this one, you’ll want to be a part of the Bradford family as well! I need my own Bradford guy! And I just really have to commend R.L. Mathewson for the creating these characters and all the witty dialogues that really hit the spot. Oh and of course that epilogue that I really wished would go on forever!

Leave a Reply

