Book Spotlight: Promise Me Darkness by Paige Weaver

17733971

Promise Me Darkness (Promise Me #1) by Paige Weaver

BOOK BLURB:

“He was my darkness and I was his light. We couldn’t exist without each other.”

For me, life was simple. I went to school and studied. I spent time with my friends and stayed out of trouble. I didn’t drink or swear and I only dated gentlemen. I was the typical good girl with a bright future. My world seemed perfect.

But that was about to change.

Ryder Delaney was the one imperfection in my life. He was the bad boy, the black sheep, the one your mother always warned you about. He had only one hard-and-fast rule – Don’t fall in love.

But some rules were meant to be broken.

We were best friends, inseparable since childhood despite our differences. I knew the real man hiding behind the tattoos and bad attitude. He knew all my secrets and dreams. But he didn’t know there was one thing I wanted and couldn’t have…him.

But sometimes Fate has a way of intervening. Soon our world collapsed. War erupted. Darkness prevailed. Alone and on the run, our only goal was to survive and to ignore the feelings we had for each other. But love is powerful…

and so is the darkness.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — How can I not love a childhood/second-chance new adult romance with a pre-apocalyptic twist?

I don’t know if something’s wrong with me because I’ve read all the tirades against this novel, but to be perfectly honest, I actually loved this one. I do think that this is a new adult novel with an apocalyptical setting, which makes it very unique compared to the other new adult novels I’ve read.

I was hooked almost instantly after reading the first few pages and I already knew that I was going to love the narration as well as the pacing of this story… and I was right. It actually started out as your typical new adult novel between childhood friends who secretly harbored deep feelings for each other but were too afraid to really admit it and let each other know. But then all hell broke loose and the story started to veer off in a different direction and that’s when things really got interesting and exciting.

“You’re my light in the darkness. I belong to you, Maddie. Without any doubt, I belong with you and I love you. I love you more than all the stars in the sky.” 

So let’s start with the romance aspect. I’ve read from a lot of reviews that a lot of people hate the fact that Ryder was such a huge jerk and that Maddie was such a stupid girl for keeping on accepting him with open arms, which I found quite weird because I’m sure I’ve encountered a lot worse relationship dynamics than the one they had. Ryder Delaney was your typical alpha-male who’s more of an actions-kind of guy. Yeah, I did want to punch him a few times for hurting Maddie but I did get where he was coming from and the fact that he openly showed his love for Maddie with the way he took care of her and protected her spoke volumes of how he really felt without verbally declaring it. He was clearly scared of finally being with the one girl that he ever loved in his life and since he’s the destructive type, his fear of eventually destroying their relationship overrode the need to declare his feelings. And then there’s Maddie. She was pretty much a likeable heroine and I honestly don’t blame her for the times she gave into Ryder’s charm and appeal. What did irritate me was her lack of survival instincts, especially when he questioned Ryder about breaking and entering into someone’s abandoned house as well as her reluctance to learn survival tips and instructions from Ryder as well. But aside from that and despite the rocky road getting there, they did find their way back to each other once and for all and it was quite beautiful how they came together in finally admitting their love for one another. Although I did question the fact that Maddie didn’t inform Ryder of her pregnancy right away even though he clearly wanted it to happen as well.

Now onto the action part of the story. I actually liked the fact that instead of having the setting in the middle of a war torn dystopian era, we actually get to see the beginnings of it. It was a refreshing take on the apocalyptic genre and the part where they started to walk their way back home really had me on the edge of my seat because you just don’t know what to expect. I was actually glad that there’s another book because I’m itching to see more action and insight as to what’s really happening as well. I do hope that all of them comes back alive, especially Ryder.

All in all, I highly recommend this story for fans of new adult novels with a much darker twist. Looking forward to the next book!

Leave a Reply

