Book Spotlight: Leo’s Chance (Sign of Love #2) by Mia Sheridan

17801656

Leo’s Chance (Sign of Love #2) by Mia Sheridan

BOOK BLURB:

The follow-up to Leo, the USA Today bestselling novel by Mia Sheridan.

Does everyone deserve a second chance? Even someone who lies and deceives to get it?

Do we all have a second chance coming? Even if we play a part in our own destruction?

How hard would you fight to have a second chance at love? A second chance at life? Another chance to tell your own story?

Every love story has two sides. Evie told hers. This time it’s Leo’s chance.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — If you adored hearing Evie’s side of things, you’ll also want to know what happened to Leo as well.

No one ever came close to making me feel like Evie did. I was destined to compare every woman I met for the rest of my life to the girl who still owned my heart. 

Mia Sheridan’s “Leo” was one of my most favorite indie gem reads of all time and that’s why it’s no surprise that I loved this one just as much! I know it’s becoming the norm for authors to come out with the guy’s POV nowadays but with Leo’s Chance, I knew that there was so much to tell from Leo/Jake’s POV and that’s why I didn’t hesitate in getting my hands on this one as soon as it came out.

I knew that I would have to shed some tears in this one just like I did the first time around but holy hell, I think I only barely started with this one when I already started crying my eyes out. Leo is one tortured and lost soul. The pain and guilt because of what he went through were just so intense and palpable that I can’t help but empathize with him as well. It was kinda expected that we would read almost everything that went through in the first book in this one as well, but I lived for those moments, experiences, and flashbacks that belonged to Leo alone. I swear there were moments when I felt like my heart was literally being stabbed because of the intense pain I felt, especially during these scenes: [When Leo first visited Seth’s grave and he sang ‘Baa Baa Black Sheep’ and his whole “You mattered” speech AND his random flashbacks of his and Evie’s moments when they were young such as their whole dancing by the park because they don’t have the means to attend the school dance as well as when he saw Evie’s Christmas wishlist that consisted of a pillow and pillowcase and he felt so helpless because he wasn’t able to give her those things she wanted. Then there was also the time when Evie told him about her life story and I swear it was torture being in Leo’s place having to hear about what she had to go through because of his abandonment. Hot damn, my tears just kept flowing because of those.]

Needless to say, this was brilliantly written and even though it went through scenes that I already know of, Mia made it seem like we’re reading about these experiences for the first time again through Leo’s eyes. Oh and if you thought Leo/Jake was super swoon worthy in the first book, wait till you read this one because the depth of how much he has loved Evie since they were 11 years old was intensified a hundredfold since we get an in-depth view at all his thoughts and feelings. Not to mention, the guy was actually funny and witty as well! And of course ladies and gentlemen, we get another sweet epilogue in this one that wrapped up Evie and Leo’s love story perfectly 🙂 Kudos to Mia!

Leave a Reply

