Book Spotlight: Escape From Paradise by Gwendolyn Field

17615896

Escape From Paradise by Gwendolyn Field

BOOK BLURB:

When college sophomore Angela Birch sneaks from Texas to Mexico for Spring Break, she believes the worst that can happen is her parents finding out.

Wrong.

The worst is falling for the ruse of handsome, alluring Fernando. One spontaneous choice whisks Angela across the world to the pseudo paradise of Spain’s Mediterranean Riviera where she has another choice to make: live cooperatively as one of billionaire Marco Ruiz’s slaves, or die.

* * *

Colin Douglas’s future was seized and choked when deliberate tragedy struck his Scottish family at the age of sixteen. He spent his remaining youthful years infiltrating the U.K.’s crime world, seeking power, control, and revenge, all leading to a position as an undercover agent. With nothing to lose, Colin accepts the seemingly impossible job of rescuing America’s famous missing girl, Angela Birch. Colin knows that to enter a snake lair, one must become a snake. It turns out to be a mission which will put his desire for control to the ultimate test, and make him wish for things he never knew he wanted.

*AUTHOR’S NOTE* Escape from Paradise is a work of fiction intended for adult readers, containing graphic sexual scenarios and strong language.

MY REVIEW: 

Overall Rating: 5/5 — For those of you who loved The Dark Duets series by CJ Roberts, you’ll surely get captivated by this gripping story as well!

The scary thing about Marco was that he believed he was a good guy. He believed he had the right to take lives at his will, to maintain his lifestyle of pseudo perfection. But what he didn’t realize was that nothing was perfect.

Nothing except love.

Just from the blurb, I knew I was getting a semblance of what went down in CJ Roberts’Dark Duets series and I knew that it was going to be helluva ride and I’m glad to say that I wasn’t disappointed at all. It does take a lot of guts for an author to tackle these kinds of topics and subjects and I commend Gwendolyn Field for shedding a light on sex slavery. But more than that, it takes true talent to captivate a reader through a difficult subject and I think she did it flawlessly because I was instantly hooked and kept on my toes throughout this book.

Let me start by saying that this story gave me so much confusing and messed up feelings, which was what I expected as well. I honestly thought that Fernando was oozing hot at first, even kinda reminded me of Javier from Karina Halle’s On Every Street, and then my mind suddenly blank when shit started to take a turn for the worst for sweet Angela. Once she officially became Marco’s slave at his villa, it was as if my heart and mind made a complete shift that I suddenly felt what Angela felt… that thatplace was going to be the world she’ll ever know. It wasn’t really that hard to get in on Angel’s thoughts and feelings when she became a slave and you can’t help but adjust to her way of thinking as well… say for example, the fact that her anal virginity was being kept intact and she took it as an act of kindness and concert on Marco’s part, which was of course a very twisted way of seeing things. I also fell so hard for Josef and at some point, I was sort of hoping that they build a loving relationship, which was once again a very twisted thing to wish for but I can’t help but want it for Angela because she did deserve real care, love, and concern from a guy who doesn’t take things forcefully from her.

On the other hand, I was just as riveted with Collin’s story as he battled his own demons and fought hard to claim what he lost in every possible way he can. And then next thing I know, there he was inside Marco’s villa and in front of him was Angela Birch and all I kept thinking was how the fvck is he getting their butts out of there?? The moment their eyes met, you just know that they were both irrevocably changed by that passing moment and that all they’ll ever need and want for the rest of their lives was each other. It may perhaps something to do with the hero complex, but Collin was just one swoon-worthy tough guy. Even with that messed up situation in the villa, he tried his damndest to do right by Angela and not succumb to the immorality surrounding them. Other than their struggle, I also felt so much for the characters especially Josef and Perla. They were victims of circumstances and yet they didn’t look at it that way, instead, they thought of themselves as privileged and blessed because of being saved from their more miserable former lives.

“There was always something different about you. I never understood why, but I couldn’t think of you as one of them. I think I felt you, the real you, all along.”

————–

“I love you, Angela. And until you tell me to leave, I will be at your side.”

“Then you’ll be there forever.” 

This was such a nail-biter of a story and it really kept me guessing on what would happen next. Needless to say, my feelings were a jumbled mess that I can’t help but peek through the last page just to make sure that Angela and Collin did get their HEA… and yes they did, thank God for that. And of course, that happy ever after did come with an expensive price that our tortured lead characters had to pay. But what’s important was they did get there and I can’t recommend this book enough, especially for those who adored the Dark Duets series. And using that as reference, this was like the reality of what was happening in Felipe’s mansion…yeah, remember that?

Leave a Reply

