Book Spotlight: Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott

17983690 copy

Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott

BOOK BLURB:

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — A very refreshing take on rocker romance! Well paced, well developed, and less angst!

“I went to Vegas because I was so sick of all this shit and I met her. She was different. She seemed different that night. I just… I wanted something outside of all this fucking idiocy for a change.” 

WOWZA! What a refreshing rocker romance!!! I’ve long since lost faith in rocker romance novels because somehow, most authors fell into this sort of lull having similar story lines that didn’t really make me feel anything new. Thank goodness I stumbled upon this one. What really got me was the blurb—I mean how can I not be interested in a story where the lead characters woke up married from a drunken night in Vegas?? Even though this story was far from epic, I really loved how the author wrote it, the way the story progressed, and the character dynamics as well. I think the main difference in this rocker love story was the fact that the romance between David Ferris and Evelyn Thomas happened back-ass-wards. They got married on a drunken whim, almost broke it off, took some time in getting to know each other, ended up falling in love, then of course someone screws it up for them, and then the wooing ensued. Even with all the craziness surrounding their love story, it actually did work and it’s what basically got me so engrossed and captivated.

Another great thing about this story was that both characters were very likeable—and the best part? Evelyn wasn’t at all annoying or irritating. In fact, I found myself relating to her, whether it’s with the way she tends to blurt out random things on her mind, being shy about certain aspects in her life, being unsure of what she really wants to do in her life, and her vulnerability… a vulnerability that does not equate to being weak because she’s far from being a helpless damsel in distress. And somehow, all those traits of her bode well with David’s quiet intensity and mysteriously passionate ways. Man oh man, David Ferris is one helluva swoon-worthy rock god. I swear, he just jumped straight to the top spot of my rocker book boyfriends… he was just that amazing. More than the grand gestures, he was just so sweet, charming, and unbelievably in-tune with Evelyn’s thoughts and feelings. And the surprising part? He was also just as vulnerable and terrified of his growing connection and feelings for Ev, which was such a contrast to your typical cocky and jerk-ish rocker ways.

“Being with you, the way I feel about you, it does ground me. But that’s because it makes me question fucking everything. It makes me want to make things better. Makes me want to be better. I can’t hide from shit or make excuses when it comes to you because that won’t work. Neither of us is happy when things are that way and I want you to be happy…” 

The other supporting characters were also such a hoot especially Mal. I’m sensing that the next book would be about him although I am pretty curious with Jimmy as well. One thing’s for sure though, I’m surely gonna read whatever’s in store with this series! Absolutely loved it! 🙂

P.S. Dearest author, is it possible for you to write their whole Vegas wedding shebang from David’s POV? I really, REALLY want to know all the details of what went down as well as David’s thoughts and feelings during those moments. Pretty pleaaaaase! Love, me 🙂

Leave a Reply

