Series Round-Up: Falling Series by Jasinda Wilder

falling-jasinda-wilder

Falling Series by Jasinda Wilder

Two beautiful love stories that were brought about by unfortunate circumstances. I really enjoyed reading this series and even though the characters in these stories were connected closely to each other, each couple underwent very different situations that captivated me all the way. I must admit though that I did like the second one better but both books nevertheless truly brought out so many emotions out of me and that’s why I have to warn you that you really have to prepare a box of Kleenex by your side while you read these novels.

17448960

Falling Into You (#1)

BOOK BLURB:

I wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way.
Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.

Colton didn’t teach me how to live. He didn’t heal the pain. He didn’t make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 4/5 — Definite tearjerker and heartwrenching story but I did get confused and got lost somewhere in the middle. 

Sweet. Sad. Steamy. Hopeful.

Even with just the blurb and knowing what was bound to happen, I knew I was going to shed some tears with this one and true enough, I did.

Kyle: “…And now we’re learning how to fall in love together. I don’t care what any one else says. I love you. I’ll always love you, no matter what happens with us in the future. I love you now and forever.” 

I don’t even want to go into detail with what happened to Kyle because it was just so heartbreaking and I felt Nell’s world go down and crumble with his sudden death. Thank heavens for Colton. Yes, their relationship was kind of wrong but I couldn’t think of a better person to help rebuild Nell’s life than Kyle’s older brother, who also happens to be just as broken as she is.

Colton: “Feel. Grieve. Let yourself feel all the anger at the fact that he was taken from you. Feel the loss of him. Feel the sadness and the missing him. Don’t block it out, don’t cut so it stops, don’t drink yourself numb. Just sit and let it all rip you apart. And then get up and keep breathing. One breath at a time. One day at a time. Wake up, and be shredded. Cry for a while. Then stop crying and go about your day. You’re not okay, but you’re alive, and you will be okay, someday.” 

It was a very beautiful story all in all. Anyone who has experienced deep grief and sadness could easily relate. I was also glad that things didn’t wrap in a sweet happy ever after because it wouldn’t be fitting at all. It was still a happy ever after, but all the darkness surrounding both characters was still there. It’s just that they have more hope and faith this time around 🙂

The only thing that prevented me from giving this book 5 shining stars was because I felt that the story was still quite underdeveloped. I mean it had a great premise, great characters, strong foundation with Kyle’s story, and basically all the potential to create an earth-shattering emotional story but it just fell short a bit for me. Don’t get me wrong, I was still moved beyond belief and I did relate to all the things about grieving and moving on but some parts felt rushed to me and I just wished that the author would’ve taken more time in developing how Nell and Colton “fell into each other”.

17700010

Falling Into Us (#2)

BOOK BLURB:

THE STORY YOU THOUGHT YOU KNEW…

When Kyle Calloway died, he took a part of Nell with him. She wasn’t the only one left to pick up the pieces, however; Kyle’s death left a gaping hole in the hearts and lives of his parents and his older brother Colton, and ultimately broke the will of the girl he loved.

THE STORY YOU NEVER IMAGINED…

Becca de Rosa is Nell’s best friend. When Kyle died, Nell was so devastated that no one could reach her, not even her best friend Becca. As she tries to help Nell through her grief, Becca’s own life is thrust into turmoil, and everything she knows is changed.

Jason Dorsey asked Nell out the week after her sixteenth birthday, but that date never happened. Instead, he ended up going out with Nell’s best friend, Becca. He had no way of knowing, then, how that one date would send him on a life-long journey with Becca. He had no way of knowing the tragedies and triumphs he would experience, or that in Becca, he might find the love of a lifetime.

THE HEARTACHE YOU’LL NEVER FORGET…

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite improvement from the first book. This was such a heartwarming story of enduring unconditional love. 

A frightening descent into
Beautiful madness
Yes, you and me
We’re
Falling into Us
And I don’t dare stop the fall
Because I need it far too much
 

Beautiful. Heartwrenching. Enduring.

Even though I wanted more of Nell and Colton’s story, I am seriously thankful that the author took a different turn and instead focused on Becca and Jason instead. Theirs was such a beautiful love story that really endured and only got stronger over the years even amidst all the shit and tragedy they went through. I have to commend the author for not delving into the typical problems between a couple such as cheating and trust issues, the “I don’t deserve you so I’ll just leave you” dilemma, and so on. Both Becca and Jason were both level-headed and beyond their years even at such a young age and this is what made their relationship really work because they did not waste their time in nonsensical and trivial teenage problems.

So because of a date that never happened, Jason found the love of his life in Becca instead. Jason Dorsey was basically the high school golden boy alongside Kyle Calloway and Becca de Rosa was the nerdy yet equally hot friend of Nell Hawthorne. Both Jason and Becca have their own personal demons that they were dealing with: Jason with his dad that beat him up and Becca with her overprotective father and her stutter, which just killed me every single time. Regardless, they somehow were able to push past all the hardships together as their relationship grew stronger over the years. The book spanned for about 8 years covering the rest of high school college, and then some. Of course we once again have to go through Kyle’s death and its impact on Jason and Becca. BUT believe it or not, that wasn’t the biggest tragedy that happened in this book. I really don’t want to spoil anything but goodness gracious, I seriously cried buckets of tears when it came to that part. If there’s one thing Jasinda Wilder is extremely good at, it’s writing about tragedies and the feelings that go with its aftermath. And man did I feel so much for the characters in this story, especially Becca and Jason.

But through and through, Jason and Becca just kept on pushing through everything. Even when there were moments that you think would destroy them, they somehow managed to move past it with the help, love, and guidance of one another. I really love how there was never any doubt with just how much they love each other. I mean even with Jason being a hotshot football player, there was never an instance wherein Becca worried about him flirting with girls or anything remotely close to that. They were just that much in love with each other and it was really amazing and endearing. I love Becca and I admire her strength but Jason really blew me away in this one. It was really amazing how he was sure that Becca was his future. Not to mention the fact that whenever Becca needs him, he’s almost instantly beside her regardless of where he was or what he was doing.

Oh and thank goodness we see a bit of Colton and Nell here as well 🙂 Both couples got their much-deserved happy ever after and I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

