Series Round-Up: Existence Trilogy by Abbi Glines

existence-trilogy

Existence Trilogy by Abbi Glines

This is Abbi Glines one and only paranormal series and true to her writing style, it was such an addicting read. Paranormal and fantasy stories are my first love and combined with the right amount of romance, then I’m sure to enjoy it all the way and that’s exactly what happened here. Even though this wasn’t as epic as my other favorite paranormal/supernatural/fantasy series, I still enjoyed it thoroughly.

If you’re looking for an easy read with the right balance between all things paranormal and some romance, then this one is a definite must-read for you. Oh and if you’ll notice, I didn’t include Leif’s novella because I didn’t bother reading it. I tried but I got bored so uhm yeah.

13223520

Existence (#1)

BOOK BLURB:

What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.

Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.

Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.

Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.

He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 4/5 — Great easy read but it’s lacking in substance and action. 

Great easy read about supernatural beings and situations. It’s not hard to fall in-love with Dank/Death, really. The author made it oh-so simple even when I was somewhat smitten by Leif’s sweetness and charm at first. Nope, there was no competition once Dank became a real person. Just like Pagan, I craved for his existence and presence in every scene within the book and I sorely missed him during his brief absence. ♡

The one minor problem I had was probably the lack of build-up between Dank and Pagan at first. I would’ve wanted to read more about the nights they spent together when Dank was there in her room every single night with more details, instead of just having to read it in passing. But then again, it was hard not to believe their feelings anyway and they grew on me as the story progressed. 🙂

And that sweet ending! I was just as shocked as Pagan when Miranda started saying“Dank Walker is here in our school…”, to the point that I myself wanted to run to wherever he was. “My beautiful soul…” “I get to keep you.” Ahhhhhhhhhh.

“I’m not a man so I do not have a heart that loves as a human does. I‘m an immortal god that dwells with supreme power because I hold the keys to Death. But you are my existence. I am yours.” 

13323842

Predestined (#2)

BOOK BLURB:

You would think after helping save her boyfriend from an eternity in Hell that things would go back to normal. Well, as normal as life can be when you can see souls and your boyfriend is Death. But for Pagan Moore, things are just getting weirder.

The high school quarterback and reigning heartthrob, Leif Montgomery, is missing. While the town is in a frenzy of worry, Pagan is a nervous wreck for other reasons. Apparently good ‘ol Leif isn’t your average teenage boy. He isn’t even human. According to Death, Leif doesn’t have a soul. The quarterback may have skipped town but he’s still showing up in Pagan’s dreams… uninvited.

Dank has known from the beginning Leif wasn’t human. But he hadn’t worried about a simple soulless creature. Now, he realizes he made a grave mistake. Pagan’s soul has been marked since birth as a restitution, to a spirit so dark not even Death walks near it. Dank knows saving Pagan’s soul won’t be easy but Pagan is his. And he’s already proven he’ll defy Heaven to keep her. If Hell wants a piece of him too, then bring it on.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 4/5 — Another addicting read but I think the plot fell somewhere towards the end. 

Hmm.. I guess I was hoping for more action between the voodoo spirits and Dank’s army. Or at least a showdown between Leif and Dank–not that Leif had a chance of defeating Dank.

Again, it’s a quick easy read that left me wanting for my own Dank Walker! Shed some tears over Wyatt and Pagan’s conversations in Vilokan. But I’m thrilled that his soul gets to come back in a very unique way ❤ I wish I could’ve read more about Dank and Pagan being a “normal” couple doing “normal” couple stuff, but I’m excited to see how he’ll win her back in the next book.

“Listen to me Pagan, you have no reason to worry. I’ve got this. Remember what I told you. What Death protects can’t be harmed and baby, you’re the only thing I protect.” Well, swoon-worthy hell.

13573795

Ceaseless (#3)

BOOK BLURB:

Can he make her fall in love with him… again?

When Pagan Moore proved worthy of Death’s devotion, he was given the gift of getting to keep her.

But Dank was never promised that Pagan would keep him.

When a soul is created, so is its mate. In every lifetime those souls find each other. They complete the other’s destiny. It’s time for Pagan’s soul to choose if she truly wants an eternity at Death’s side or if she wants the mate created just for her.

Dank didn’t think he had to worry about her choice. He knew where her heart belonged. Until he realized that every kiss, every touch, every moment of their time together would be washed from her memories. He would have to win her heart all over again and prove to her soul that he was where she belonged.

If only her soul’s mate wasn’t right there standing in his way.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 4/5 — This was one sweet finale but once again, it wasn’t epic and it lacked a great deal in action. Not to mention I really did not like the whole premise. 

I just have to say that I really didn’t like the premise of the story with Pagan being soulmates with Jay and her memory being wiped out clean. I mean that’s it? After everything? I just can’t accept the whole “she has to freely choose” logic behind it. Okay /endrant.

Other than that small dilemma and a few interruptions by a certain voodoo prince, I loved this final instalment!!! I may not like the whole Jay-Pagan soulmates thing, but I loved seeing Dank doing everything he can to make Pagan fall for him all over again. Boy got his A-game on (most of the time at least). But of course, recognition should be given to Gee who, in my opinion, was the one who really made things happen for Dank and Pagan to be together again.

I mean almost all of the quotes that I’ve highlighted came from Gee:

“Stop standing around and being all wounded and shit. Go do something about it. You’re Dank Walker. You’re f*cking Death. He’s a human soul. You got this. Go figure it out.” 

You f*cking fight is what you do. You f*cking fight.” 

Dankmar Walker, I’m going to miss you. Thank goodness for the super HAPPY ending!!! ♥

Leave a Reply

