Book Spotlight: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror Series #7) by Karina Halle

16143338

Come Alive (Experiment in Terror Series #7) by Karina Halle

BOOK BLURB:

It’s one thing to bring the woman you love back into your life. It’s another to try and keep her there. For Dex Foray, con­vinc­ing Perry Palomino to open her­self to their bur­geon­ing rela­tion­ship has been more chal­leng­ing than hunt­ing ghosts, bat­tling demons and stalk­ing Sasquatch com­bined. Add in the fact that the only way they can keep their Exper­i­ment in Ter­ror show run­ning is to take on a third part­ner in the form of the mys­te­ri­ous Max­imus Jacobs — all while inves­ti­gat­ing a sin­is­ter voodoo sect in New Orleans — and you’ve got the per­fect South­ern storm and a recipe for dis­as­ter. Luck­ily, Dex has never been one to back down, even when his life –and heart — are on the line.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Do I even need to justify my 5-star rating for this one? Karina Halle is one of my few automatic 5-star authors anyway. 

>>> You can check my reviews on the previous Experiment in Terror series books here

It was like if I gave up on Perry then I was giving up on love forever. Dramatic, yes. But I was Dex Foray and “dramatic” was my middle name, along with “the Fuckmaster” and “Pierre”.

tumblr_m6k8d5cAGg1rziwwco1_400

And this is why Karina Halle is in a whole new league of her own, people!!! This book was amazeballs as expected, of course. Man, it feels like I’ve waited for a decade for this one to come out. Ever since I made the right decision of getting hooked on Experiment in Terror series, I just can’t seem to get enough of Dex and Perry that I’ve suffered major withdrawals after Into the Hollow. And true to Karina’s greatness, each book in this series just keeps on getting better and better and better… you get the point.

For all of you Dex and Perry fans (I mean who isn’t?), you’re in for a treat because Dex 2.0 is one helluva swoon-worthy guy in this one. Especially since it’s his POV, you really get a front row seat to his uncensored thoughts and feelings and boy was it such a treat to be inside his head. In the first half of this book, I almost forgot that this was supposed to be a horror and suspense-kind of read because of all the swoon-worthy and heart-meltingly sweet moments between Dex and Perry and no, I am not complaining because I love it!

We meet new characters and of course there’s Maximus “Ginger Balls/Douchecanoe” Jacobs, who serves as an addition to the EIT gang much to Dex’s utter disappointment. We encounter haunted houses, zombies, and voodoo witches in New Orleans and of course, the trio are smack at the center of it all. While the other EIT books focused more on the scare factor than the romance between Dex & Perry, Come Alive was quite the opposite because this one mostly revolved around their newfound relationship and the mystery and problems surrounding their union. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll swoon, you’ll also want to kick Dex’s ass, as well as a cut a bitch (Ambrosia, I’m looking at you) and you’ll bite your nails as they go through solving the shit surrounding the voodoo mystery.

And just like with other Karina’s books, you’ll feel as if you’re really a part of their world as if they really exist in real life. There were many moments when I really wanted to climb inside my Kindle reader and just drop in on them in New Orleans. Oh and I’d never thought I’d be saying this but brace yourselves for some Dex-Maximus bromance action! Not to mention the fact that Jen got verbally bitch-slapped as well somewhere in the first half, which felt awesome of course. It ended on such a sweet note but you just know that there’s more for Dex and Perry to deal with in the next book, especially surrounding Dex’s family as well as the repercussions of Dex and Perry being together.

“I love you, I’ve loved you from the very start. And…sometimes I think I can’t possibly love you more. And then I do. You fill me up and break my own heart open, you know? It just creates more room. There is no limit. I love you, I love you, I love you and I’ll die saying it because I was born to feel it. I am in love with you, you wonderful, funny, handsome man.”

“Baby, I love you, more than ever, more than anything in the fucking world. You are my world. And all I’ve ever wanted is for me to be yours.”

Another amazing piece by Karina Halle. Now give me Ashes to Ashes!!!

Leave a Reply

