Book Spotlight: Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas

18090508

Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas 

BOOK BLURB:

My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all.

We’re neighbors, and once, we were best friends. But then, one summer, he turned on me and has made it his mission to screw up my life at every opportunity. I’ve been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to hide from him. I worried about what was around every corner and behind every door.

So I left.

I spent a year studying abroad and bathed in the freedom of life without Jared. Now I’m back to finish up high school and get the hell out of here forever. I’m hoping that after a year of breathing room, he’s moved on and forgotten all about me.

But even if he hasn’t changed, I have. I’m not interested in avoiding him or turning the other cheek anymore. We’re going to go head to head, because neither of us wants to back down.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read for new adult junkies! Truly a refreshing take on second chances as well as a unique take on the issue of bullying. 

“You made me giddy with expectation, just like a symphonic rainstorm. You were a tempest in the sun, the thunder in a boring, cloudless sky.”

“Tate, you’re mine, and I’m yours. Every day you’re going to realize that more and more. When you believe it without a doubt, then I’ll have earned your trust.” 

What a beautiful high school romance!!! I just got this because I saw that it was for free in Amazon and I never thought I’d get waaaay more than what I expected with this precious indie gem. In a world of lackluster and repetitive new adult novels, this was such a refreshing read that brought about so many emotions within every page.

The blurb basically says it all: Tate and Jared were childhood best friends but after the summer before their freshman year in high school, everything suddenly changed and Jared became Tate’s worst nightmare and source of pain and humiliation. It’s a good thing she got a one year break when she went to France for her 3rd year in high school and when she returned, she’s ready to fight back against Jared’s pranks and hurtful actions.

I seriously went through a wide range of emotions as I read through this book. There was extreme humiliation, anger, searing pain, hate, shock, doubt, and of course a whole lot of sweet lovin’. I seriously wanted to kick Jared’s ass for what he’s doing to Tate but as the story progressed, there were also times when I wanted to shake the fvck out of Tate as well because instead of becoming the bigger person, she was also turning into a bully herself as well. But you can’t help but feel for Tate for the pain and confusion that she was feeling because she really had no idea why Jared suddenly turned against her after everything they shared. Not to mention the fact that instead of feeling extreme anger and hate towards him, she also can’t help but be immensely attracted to him as well. I lived for the moments when Jared shows a bit of crack to his strong bully-like demeanor towards Tate, especially during Tate’s monologue, which made me cry buckets of tears btw. Little by little, Jared decides to change and even thought Tate is still very doubtful, she can’t help but give into their feelings towards each other and it was utterly beautiful!

Needless to say, this is a definite must read for new adult novel junkies. The writing was beautiful, the story development and character dynamics were great as well and I can assure you that you really will feel so much for both Tate and Jared as their deal with their shit of a relationship as it progressed into something very beautiful and real. I think this is a series and even though Jared and Tate got their happy ever after, I still kinda want their story to continue as well—maybe in a college setting?

Leave a Reply

