Series Round-Up: Too Far Series by Abbi Glines

too-far-abbi-glines

Too Far Series by Abbi Glines

Le sigh. This started out as possibly Abbi Glines’ best series so far but somewhere along the way, it fell short of becoming something great in my opinion. I just finished reading the last book and to sum it up, it was a letdown. Rush and Blaire were characters that I’ve grown to love and I’m really sad that their story took a turn in a not-so-good way. Fallen Too Far was lacking, Never Too Far was a huge improvement, but then Forever Too Far basically ruined it for me. But anyway, Abbi Glines is still one of the authors that I truly admire and I do hope that the spin-off series (especially Woods’) would turn out to be much better.

fallen-never-too-far

Fallen Too Far (Too Far #1)

Never Too Far (Too Far #2)

BOOK BLURB:

Fallen Too Far:

To want what you’re not supposed to have…

She is only nineteen.

She is his new stepfather’s daughter.

She is still naïve and innocent due to spending the last three years taking care of her sick mother.

But for twenty-four year old Rush Finlay, she is the only thing that has ever been off limits. His famous father’s guilt money, his mother’s desperation to win his love, and his charm are the three reasons he has never been told no.

Blaire Wynn left her small farmhouse in Alabama, after her mother passed away, to move in with her father and his new wife in their sprawling beach house along the Florida gulf coast. She isn’t prepared for the lifestyle change and she knows she’ll never fit into this world. Then there is her sexy stepbrother who her father leaves her with for the summer while he runs off to Paris with his wife. Rush is as spoiled as he is gorgeous. He is also getting under her skin. She knows he is anything but good for her and that he’ll never be faithful to anyone. He is jaded and has secrets Blaire knows she may never uncover but even knowing all of that…

Blaire just may have fallen too far.

Never Too Far:

He had held a secret that destroyed her world.

Everything she had known was no longer true.

Blaire couldn’t stop loving him but she knew she could never forgive him.
Now, she was back home and learning to live again. Moving on with life… until something happened to send her world spinning once again.
What do you do when the one person you can never trust again is the one that you need to trust so desperately?

You lie, hide, avoid, and pray that your sins never find you out.

MERGED REVIEW:

Overall Rating:

Fallen Too Far: 4/5 — Must-read for new adult lovers.

Never Too Far: 4/5 — Huge improvement from the first book!

Definitely much better than the first book! Okay this story may not be as in-depth as other NA novels but what I do like about it is how it’s very straight to the point and a definite page-turner.

All the characters definitely stepped up in this one and while there were still quite a lot of annoying miscommunication predicaments, I’m glad that they’re resolved right away and not dragged on until it became a one huge blowout. I swear Blair and Rush could’ve avoided A LOT of heartaches and fights if they just talked before shutting each other down right away, but oh well. I’m really glad that they had a solid support group, which included Woods, Bethy, Grant (to some extent), and yes even Blair’s dad with his kinda-too-late-what-the-eff revelation.

It was also nice to see Rush getting his caveman protective instincts x1000 more, even to the point that he really shoved it in Nan and their mother’s faces just to protect and save Blair. Plus reading about how Rush is gushing about his soon-to-be-born baby is making this book all the more worth it.

This pretty much sums up Rush and his devotion to Blair in this book:

“No man has ever loved a woman as much as I love you. Nothing will ever come before you. I don’t know what else I have to do to prove to you that I won’t let you down again. I won’t hurt you. You don’t have to be alone anymore. I need you.” 

All is finally well in Rosemary 🙂

17337562

Forever Too Far (Too Far #3)

BOOK BLURB:

Rush promised her forever… but promises can be broken.

Torn between his love for his family and his love for Blaire, Rush has to find a way to save one without losing the other. In the end one has to be more important. Letting go isn’t easy.

Blaire believed in her fairytale… but no one can live in a fantasy.

Her love for Rush and desire to have a family keep her believing that they can find a way for this to work. Until she has to make the right decision for her and the baby. Even if it breaks her heart.

Can they find the forever that they both want or has it all just gone… too far?

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 3/5 — Read if you’re a die-hard Rush fan. 

Forced. Too drawn out. Rushed. 

I almost wished that Abbi Glines just stopped with Never Too Far. I felt like a huge question mark was hanging above my head while I was reading this 3rd installment to Blaire and Rush’s story. Unfortunately, all the hype and not even that beautiful cover were not enough to make up for the lack of depth, substance, and coherent flow in this novel.

This book, which I kinda hoped to be more about Blaire and Rush’s marriage and how they work through it, only turned out to be more about the other characters instead namely: Nan (mostly Nan really), Grant, Harlow, and some Woods and Della on the side. I honestly wished that the second book ended with Rush and Blaire having their wedding as well as an epilogue with their new life as a family together, instead of this novella that just annoyed the life out of me. I had high hopes for this one because I thought that Abbi finally nailed it with Twisted Perfection and then my hopes suddenly came crashing down as I read through this. I’m still a fan of Abbi and all and my goodness, if it wasn’t for her addicting way of writing, I would’ve put this under my DNF books.

For all the Rush-Blaire fans out there, yes they did have their happy ever after here and it was sugary sweet…too sugary sweet actually. Oh man, I could’ve even overlooked the incoherent flow of this story early on if it had a good ending, which it didn’t as well. It was a HEA but very much anti-climactic and it even ended on building up another couple’s story: Woods and Della’s. I think I still prefer Never Too Far among all the books in this series but all in all, this really wasn’t a stellar Abbi Glines series for me. It did start out very promising and strong with Fallen Too Far but it plummeted quite quickly and went in directions that sometimes bordered on simply ridiculous. Really hoping that Woods and Della’s story could make up for this because they’re currently my favorite Abbi Glines couple. Oh and another good thing from this one? Grant’s other (and much better) love interest. Seriously, why do people there still bother with Nan anyway? /end of rant.

Leave a Reply

