Book Spotlight: Tangled by Emma Chase

16073738

Tangled (Tangled #1) by Emma Chase

BOOK BLURB:

Drew Evans is a winner. Handsome and arrogant, he makes multimillion dollar business deals and seduces New York’s most beautiful women with just a smile. He has loyal friends and an indulgent family. So why has he been shuttered in his apartment for seven days, miserable and depressed?

He’ll tell you he has the flu.

But we all know that’s not really true.

Katherine Brooks is brilliant, beautiful and ambitious. She refuses to let anything – or anyone – derail her path to success. When Kate is hired as the new associate at Drew’s father’s investment banking firm, every aspect of the dashing playboy’s life is thrown into a tailspin. The professional competition she brings is unnerving, his attraction to her is distracting, his failure to entice her into his bed is exasperating.

Then, just when Drew is on the cusp of having everything he wants, his overblown confidence threatens to ruin it all. Will he be able untangle his feelings of lust and tenderness, frustration and fulfillment? Will he rise to the most important challenge of his life?

Can Drew Evans win at love?

Tangled is not your mother’s romance novel. It is an outrageous, passionate, witty narrative about a man who knows a lot about women…just not as much as he thinks he knows. As he tells his story, Drew learns the one thing he never wanted in life, is the only thing he can’t live without.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read! Deliciously funny and swoon-worthy!

See that rakishly handsome guy in the charcoal slacks and black shirt with the sleeves half rolled up? The one arranging the china plates on that table?

That’s me. Drew Evans.

Well, not really. Not the old me. I’m new and improved. This is DAK. Can you guess what that stands for? Half the women in this city would give their left tit to have me where I am right now. Pussy whipped. Obsessed.

In love.

Holy pillar of all things cocky and hot! This was definitely the book that took me out of my book slump. What a refreshing read! Just to give you an insight, it’s a mix between Wallbanger (remember Simon the Wallbanger?) and Seduction & Snacks (yep, the very random and hot Carter Ellis). I swear, the author was just pure genius in coming up with a humorous and steamy novel from the cocky guy’s POV. I simply devoured each page and I never wanted it to stop. I kinda wished for it to be a wee bit longer just because I can’t seem to let go of our main man, Drew Evans. I’m going out on a limb say that this should really be turned into a movie. I swear from the first page, it was as if I was seeing every single scene play out crystal clear in my mind. The narration was just so superb that you can’t help but be drawn into the inner working of Drew’s mind. And to sum it up, the story development, pacing, character dynamics, and all the other story-telling elements were just pure perfection—simply an unputdownable read!

So we meet Drew Evans, one of the best in the field of investment banking and is a man who gets what he wants when he wants it. He’s basically your typical privileged playboy, and is even admittedly raised spoiled rotten as well. And yep, you guessed it right…he’s also most definitely not the marrying type either. But then he meets Katherine Brooks. It was one chance encounter that really shook and turned his world upside down, especially after he sees her working in his company the Monday after he tried to hook up with her and failed miserably. He was seriously hooked and hell bent on having her but there’s one major problem: she’s engaged, betrothed, someone’s fiancé, you get the point. But that definitely didn’t stop him from flirting with her up until the moment they were pitched against each other for the job of a lifetime. I swear, their whole fighting and competition against each other was one of my favorite moments in the whole book. It was completely hilarious seeing them act like children trying to outdo and outsmart each other. Okay before I go on spilling the entirety of the story, I’ll just sum it up: he finally got the girl, messed it up horrendously, and then tried his damndest to win her back (which is also one of the highlights of the book for me because I laughed and swooned and melted with all his surprises for her). Let’s just say that I’d gladly offer my first born to be in Kate Brooks’ place instead.

“I’m not lying to you now, Kate. But it’s okay. Do what you need to do. Curse me out, slap me around–get it all out of your system. I can take it. Because the more you push me away, the harder I’m going to fight to prove to you that this is real. That I’m not going anywhere and that what I feel for you isn’t going to change. And then someday–maybe not any time soon, but one day–I’m going to tell you that you, Kate Brooks, are the love of my life, and you won’t have any doubt that it’s true.” 

Oh and did I mention that he actually used The Notebook as reference in one of his most moving speeches in this story? Yep, and it was gut-wrenchingly amazing.

“I watched The Notebook again.” It’s still so fucking gay. However…
“I get it now. Why Noah put that art room together for Allie. It wasn’t because he was a vagina; it was because he didn’t have a choice. She was it for him. No matter what he did, there was never gonna be anyone but her. So all he could do was set up the room and hope to God that one day she’d show up to use it. And that pretty much sums up exactly how I feel about you. So I did this”—I gesture around the room—“because I want you in my life, Kate. Permanently.”

PURE PERFECTION, RIGHT? RIGHT??? RIGHT.

Aside from being a very entertaining read, this book also felt like some sort of instructional or an introduction to guy’s way of thinking 101. I was more than enlightened and amused with some parts where Drew explained what guys really thought of a certain situation. Come to think of it, this was like Sex and the City from a guy’s POV and Drew was like the male Samantha Jones or Carrie Bradshaw. And aside from Drew, the rest of the supporting characters were just as funny as hell as well.

I’m seriously hoping for a book two but I don’t want them to encounter any more serious problems. But I really would want to see more of Drew and Kate, actually just more of Drew and his dirty and cocky thoughts specifically.

DEFINITE MUST-READ PEOPLE!!!

One comment

  1. Hi there! I am also a mega fan of this book. I have all copies of the 4 books- all paperbacks! ahha :)) I LOVE DREW EVANS TO DEATH!!!♥
    And you’re so right, this deserves a movie adaptation! I hope this will happen 😀 I’d love to see Drew’s cockiness and hotness before my very eyes.

Leave a Reply

