Series Round-Up: The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

vincent-boys-abbi-glines

Compared to the Existence Trilogy and the Sea Breeze Series (also by Abbi Glines FYI), I really fell in love with this series so much more. I think it was primarily because I had such a soft spot for stories stemming from childhood relationships and Ashton, Beau, and Sawyer’s relationship had its roots since they were still very young. But I have to say, while most people preferred Beau, I actually fell for Sawyer more in the second book. But that’s just me.

vincent-boys

The Vincent Boys (The Vincent Boys #1) by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.

Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.

Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read! Haven’t I mentioned that this is one of my Abbi Glines’ favorite reads?

After reading the whole Existence Trilogy and Fallen Too Far, this one’s officially my most favorite Abbi Glines book! For some reason, I just had a hard time getting attached to the characters of her other books on a deeper level. I thought I’d experience the same feelings with this book, but I was fortunately wrong.

I really have a weakness for characters who have some sort of history, most especially when they happen to be childhood friends. I’ve read my fair share of novels with cheating as its main topic, and I really like how it was handled in this short and sweet novel. Again, I hate cheating and I don’t exactly condone it but it’s a sad reality of relationships nowadays so might as well be open to this sort of taboo topic.

And how can you not fall for Beau Vincent anyway? More than anything, I really felt so bad for him once I got a good grasp of how life had been so unfair to him in a number of ways, and yet he still managed to come out of it and grow up on his own barely unscathed.

“As I took a step toward him your eyes met mine and I saw the silent pleading for forgiveness or acceptance. I wasn’t sure which. All I knew was you were Sawyer’s now. My best friend was gone. I envied him and hated him for the first time that day. He’d finally won the one prize I thought was mine.”

“I was very aware that you were a girl, Ash. I was just scared because the one person in the world who knew every secret I’d ever had also happened to be the most beautiful girl I’d ever known. My feelings for you were scary as Hell.”

What he and Ashton did to Sawyer was completely wrong, but just how dense can Sawyer be to allow three years to pass without really acknowledging the fact that Ashton had been faking her whole good girl facade all those times? Anyway, after all was said and done, I’m looking forward for Sawyer to get his real happy ever after because he does deserve it as well 🙂

vincent-brothers

The Vincent Brothers (The Vincent Boys #2) by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

Getting a boy to fall head-over-heels in love with you isn’t easy. Especially when he’s been in love with your cousin for as long as you can remember.

Lana has lived her life in her cousin’s shadow. Ashton always made perfect grades, had tons of friends, and looks model-perfect. And she’s always had Sawyer Vincent—the only boy Lana’s ever wanted—wrapped around her finger. But now things are different. Lana has a chance to make Sawyer see her, and she’s taking it. If only he’d get over Ashton—because Lana is sick of second-best.

Sawyer’s heart is broken. He’s lost his best girl to his best friend. And then Lana comes to town. Ashton’s cousin has always been sweet and soft-spoken, but now she’s drop-dead gorgeous as well. Sawyer doesn’t know if Lana can heal his broken heart, but spending time with her might at least make Ashton jealous.

What starts as a carefree fling becomes a lusty game of seduction. Sawyer and Lana may have different motives, but their scintillating hookups are the same kind of steamy. . . .

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: Definite must-read! Sawyer Vincet > Beau Vincent. Just saying.

Okay it’s official. The Vincent Boys is officially my most favorite Abbi Glines series! And man oh man, I was even a bit hesitant at first to continue with book two right after the first one ’cause I really fell head over heels for Beau. But I dare say that I actually liked Sawyer and Lana’s story so much more than Beau and Ashton’s!!!

For one, I actually felt both Sawyer and Lana’s struggle—Sawyer trying to move on and get over Ashton, while Lana’s struggling to feel accepted pretty much by everyone around her. In addition, instead of the usual good girl taming the bad boy, this story had this: good girl turned kinda bad, which in turn brought out the bad boy from the golden boy of the town. Yup.

Ahhh I really liked how Sawyer’s feelings for Lana developed. It wasn’t perfect and flawless and in fact, there were many times that he unintentionally fell back to his old habits, and I wasn’t even annoyed by it. I also understood Lana’s predicament and how she tried her hardest to stand by Sawyer through whatever shit he put her through. Normally, I’d get annoyed by this kind of martyrdom but instead, I even admired Lana for her strength and loyalty. The one character I was slightly irritated with in this story was actually Ashton, it was like all she did was whine, cry, etc. As for Beau, I adore him for sticking by his brother and helping him in dealing with his feelings and predicament.

Beau: “When you fall for the one that owns you, she’ll be the only one that has the power to make you cry.” 

And of course, Lana’s letter. I cried my eyes out with the last few sentences and I can only imagine how Sawyer felt when reading Lana’s words.

Lana: “When you have someone that special, that incredible, who loves you, don’t let it go. This is your second chance to treasure what you’ve had all your life. Sawyer was always the Vincent boy worth fighting for. He’s the special one.” 

Thank God for Sawyer finally realizing how his feelings for Ashton differed from what real love is like, and how that’s exactly how he feels for Lana.

Sawyer: “…I know this because I understand now what love really feels like. The kind that consumes you. Love holds the power to break you. It holds the power to complete you. 

Until you, I was lost. I thought Ashton was what my life was supposed to be. Letting go of the comfort zone that our relationship represented was hard. Then you came into my life like a light bursting through the darkness. You made everything make sense.”

“Lana, I think about you every minute of every day. When I’m with you, my world is complete. When I touch you, I understand the meaning of life. When I lost you, I completely shattered. You. Own. Me.”

Finally, that EPILOGUE. That was one helluva sweet epilogue and even though it hurts to say goodbye to these characters, it was nice to have that kind of closure and happy ever after for all of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

