Series Round-Up: Sea Breeze Series by Abbi Glines

sea-breeze-series

Abbi Glines’ first series was both a hit and miss for me. The first two books were just okay but the last two blew me away! But despite that, I can’t deny that Abbi just has that certain magic with the way she writes because I was most certainly addicted to all the characters in these books.

breathe

Breathe (Sea Breeze #1) by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

Sadie White’s summer job isn’t going to be on the beach life-guarding or working at rental booths like most kids her age. With her single mother’s increasing pregnancy and refusal to work, Sadie has to take over her mother’s job as a domestic servant for one of the wealthy summer families on a nearby island.

When the family arrives at their summer getaway, Sadie is surprised to learn that the owner of the house is Jax Stone, one of the hottest teen rockers in the world. If Sadie hadn’t spent her life raising her mother and taking care of the house she might have been normal enough to be excited about working for a rock star.

Even though Sadie isn’t impressed by Jax’s fame, he is drawn to her. Everything about Sadie fascinates Jax but he fights his attraction. Relationships never work in his world and as badly as he wants Sadie, he believes she deserves more. By the end of the summer, Jax discovers he can’t breathe without Sadie.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 3/5 — Truth be told, I think you can skip this one out and just go straight to the second one. But still a pretty okay read.

A modern day Cinderella story. Considering that this was actually Abbi Glines’ first novel ever, I understood why it was not that well written. I felt quite disconnected with how it was narrated but I guess it was the story that drew me in because I did like Sadie and Jax a lot.

This was quite a fluffy and sweet read for me because everything progressed beautifully for Sadie and Jax. They might have encountered a huge barrier to their developing relationship, but it ended with a very sweet happy ever after 🙂

P.S. I heard that Abbi is releasing a newer version of this. Can’t wait to read it!

because-of-low

Because of Low (Sea Breeze #2) by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

It’s steamy in the Gulf town of Sea Breeze. Physical attraction is the only way to beat the heat in this start to a series from bestselling, previously self-published author Abbi Glines.Playboy Cage owns the apartment, and he hosts a revolving door of people, in and out, at all times. Most of them are long-legged hot girls who are never there more than a night or two. When Cage’s new roommate, Marcus, enters the picture, he’s just looking to nurse a broken heart. But there’s one particular semi-frequent regular who catches his eye.

Willow—“Low”—is the one Cage wants to marry. But the two of them are night and day, and Marcus can’t see how Low puts up with all of Cage’s womanizing. What she really needs is a real man….like good-looking and sensible Marcus. But that’s going to get real complicated and real messy—real fast.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 3.5-4/5 — Definite improvement from the first book but still lacks in a few departments.

Definitely an improvement from the first book in this series. It was nice to see a whole new side of Marcus from the one I encountered in the first book. Well okay, it wasn’t like he wasn’t given a fair fighting chance by Sadie anyway, but still.

At about 50% off the book, I managed to piece through what the twist was going to be. I liked how it was dealt with and I cried my eyes out for the pain Willow felt. Thank God for the supporting characters, except for Tawny, who managed to open Marcus’ eyes and see his mistake. Sweet happy ever after for Willow and Marcus, of course 🙂

while-it-lasts

While It Lasts (Sea Breeze #3) by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

Maybe driving home after a few (or more) shots of tequila had been a bad idea, but hell, he did it all the time. The cops had to have been freaking bored to have pulled him over. He wasn’t even swerving! That’s Cage York’s story and he’s sticking to it.

Unfortunately, his baseball coach isn’t buying it. Cage has a free ride to the local junior college for baseball — or he did, until he’d gotten a DUI. Now, Cage has to decide: does he drop out and give up his dream of getting noticed by a college in the SEC, and possibly making it into the Major Leagues — or does he give in to his coach’s demands and spend his summer baling hay?

Eva Brooks planned out her life step by step when she was eight years old. Not once over the years had she lost sight of her goals. Josh Beasley, her next door neighbor, had been the center of those goals. He’d been her first boyfriend at seven, her first kiss at ten, her first date at fifteen, and her first tragedy at eighteen. The moment she’d received the phone call from Josh’s mother saying he’d been killed along with four other soldiers just north of Baghdad, Eva’s carefully planned life imploded in the worst way possible.

Cage isn’t real happy with his closet-sized bedroom in the back of a foul smelling barn, or his daily interactions with cows, but he knows that if he doesn’t make his coach happy then he can kiss his scholarship goodbye. Only a sick and twisted man would decide his punishment was to be working on a farm all summer. No hot babes in bikinis waiting to meet a Southern boy to make her vacation complete. Just him and the damned cows.

Oh — and an uptight, snarky brunette with the biggest blue eyes he’s every seen. But she doesn’t count, because as hard as he’s tried to charm her out of her panties – he’s pretty sure she’d rather see him hung from the rafters than let him get a taste of her pretty little lips.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read! Loved the characters and story so much.

Now this is what I’m taking about. Definitely so much better than the first two books in this series 🙂

Man, that prologue was too heartbreaking. I cried during the first few pages of this book and it’s a good thing that I managed to get a good grasp of how it’s like to be in Eva’s shoes. And of course, we all know Cage from Because of Low so I do have a pretty good understanding of what his life was like.

I mean put these two unbelievably hot people together in a farm faraway (okay 1 hour away) from civilisation, how can they not fall for each other? It wasn’t exactly insta-love but more of they just can’t help the attraction between them no matter how much they tried to hide it—especially for Eva’s part.

I think the best parts of this story was Cage’s transformation from the serial manwhore to a guy who’s helplessly in-love with the farmer’s daughter, and Eva’s baby steps recovery thanks to Cage. It was sweet and yes, I did shed a few tears thanks to Cage’s struggle and of course Eva’s memories of Josh.

“I love you, Eva Brooks. No matter what you’ve been told or what you think of me. I love you!” 

Man, when bad boys fall, they sure do fall hard. I was pretty sure my heart turned to mush at the last scene with the piano. ♡

just-for-now

Just For Now (Sea Breeze #4) by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

The day Preston Drake figured out that wealthy women paid well for a set of tight abs and a pretty face his life turned around.

The run down rat-infested trailer he had shared with his alcoholic mother and three younger siblings was now only a place he visited to pay the bills and stock the pantry with food.

He no longer worried about his family starving or living without electricity. The money he made entertaining rich older women more than covered his family’s needs and his own. He had it all figured out. Except…

There was this girl.

She was as innocent as he was tainted.

Amanda Hardy wished her knees didn’t get weak when Preston walked into a room. She hated the fact her heart raced when he flashed his smile in her direction. He had a different girl in his bed every night. He was the kind of boy a smart girl ran from. So, why was she coming up with ways to get close to him? Even when it was obvious he wanted to keep her at a distance.

Maybe her heart knew something the world didn’t. Maybe Preston Drake was more than just a pretty face.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read! I really felt so much for both Amanda and Preston.

Preston > Cage > Marcus > Jax. I really have to say that Preston was the most interesting character in this series and I’d like to think that Abbi Glines saved the best for last.

Preston Drake isn’t your typical bad boy to be tamed and it was nice to see more depth to his character, especially when it comes to his younger siblings. I just can’t help but swoon and melt whenever he goes all soft and sweet with Jimmy, Brent, and most especially little Daisy May. And inasmuch as the whole falling-for-your-brother’s-best-friend thing is a major cliché, I can’t help but love how Amanda and Drake’s relationship progressed. Must be because I’m such a sucker for two people with some sort of history but oh well.

I do dislike the fact that Preston continued with his “job” even after things got serious with Amanda but I don’t blame him. That was all the life he’s ever known and he was completely shaken with how Amanda makes him feel. Also, I have to give major props to Amanda for loving him that much to accept his past and whole life baggage as well.

“Nothing about this thing we have is a bad thing. I’m not gonna lie about it: I don’t deserve you. I’m sure as hell not good enough for you, but as long as you want me, I’m all yours.”

“I love you with a scary, insane, wild, amazing love. I always will. No one else could ever make me feel this way.”

“I love you. I love you so damn much it consumes me. I don’t deserve you, but I’m gonna become the man who does deserve you. I promise you. I’ll make you proud of me.”

Major swoon! What I’m a bit irked with is why Rock waited for some time to bust Preston’s “job” and offer him a much better career opportunity. But oh well, he does play an integral part in helping Preston’s life change in a huge and much better way so I can’t actually blame him for anything. I also do agree with some reviews that the ending was a bit rushed and left some major loopholes as well but it was a happy ever after and I guess it’s much better to not keep it too perfect for it to be believable enough anyway.

Finally done with the Sea Breeze series! The last 2 books are definitely the stand out stories for me but all-in-all it was one helluva sweet ride 🙂

7 comments

  1. I’ve just found Abbi Glines, and only read Just For Now from the series. I liked it, but totally agree that the parts surrounding Preston’s job were prety awkward. Thanks for reviewing the whole series. Now I know what to check out and what I can skip.

    1. You’re welcome! Yep, I highly recommend the last two books in this series 🙂 Hope you enjoy other Abbi Glines books as well!

  2. millyluv · · Reply

    ok I don’t get it…. here is says that the first book of the sea breeze series is BREATHE but when I tried to buy it on my tablet it says that I can pre-order the book. it says that this book is supposed to come out June 4 (tomorrow) and the other books already came out last year. does the order of the books matter?… cuz they seem to be connected somehow.

    1. Hi there. Yes the first book of the series is BREATHE. But Abbi Glines is re-releasing a new and improved version of it because the first version did have some problems when it came to editing since it was her first book ever. Also I think she’s adding some more steamy scenes as well 🙂

  3. I love the Sea Breeze Series!! I cannot wait to read Jason’s story and hear more about Cage and Eva 🙂

    1. I know! Sometimes It Lasts is out next month already. I can’t wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

