Book Spotlight: Second Chance Boyfriend by Monica Murphy

17316075

Second Chance Boyfriend (Drew + Fable #2) by Monica Murphy

I really love this series! I think Monica Murphy is one author to watch out for in the world of New Adult novels. And while I don’t have a review of the first part of this series, which is the One Week Girlfriend, I still loved it enough to make me continue reading it until its sequel. I think it was just I felt that the story was a bit rushed, which left me a small room to fully connect with Drew and Fable. But I tell you, it IS worth reading. And this sequel surely made up for everything that I thought lacked in the first book.

BOOK BLURB:

Lost. That one single word best describes my life at this very moment. I lost the last games of the season and both my team and my coach blame me. I lost the last two months because I drowned in my own despair like a complete loser. And I lost the only girl who ever mattered because I was afraid being with me would destroy her.

But now I realize how truly lost I am without her. She has become my story…and even though she acts like she’s moved on, I know she still thinks about me just as much as I think about her. She’s beautiful, sweet—and so damn vulnerable, all I want to do is help her. Be there for her.

Love her…

If only I could convince Fable to give me a second chance. Then I wouldn’t feel so lost anymore, and neither would she. We could be found together.

Forever.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 4/5 — Definite must-read for new adult junkies!

“I’ve always run away in the past. But you, Fable. You make me want to stay.” 

This was the perfect conclusion to Drew and Fable’s story! I had some reservations about the first book but I just wasn’t able to pinpoint exactly what was lacking in it in the first place. Thank goodness for this sequel because it finally brought a whole new light and depth to the story.

One thing I can really commend hands down is Drew and Fable’s chemistry. I mean those two were just electric whenever they’re together and it was as if I could physically feel the pull between them oozing out of my Kindle reader. I seriously adored how everything came together between these two broken and lost people. Yeah there were quite a lot of angst and I felt kind of on the edge every time I started a chapter because I know anytime there could be something that would go wrong, and they might once again end up in ruins. Thank God their love was so much stronger than that, that they were able to pull off and push through all the problems, hardships, and difficulties.

For a passion that’s
Able to shine like ours
Blessed are we to
Love
Each other
 

One thing I did not appreciate in this novel was that itsy bitsy POV of Adele. I don’t think it was necessary, mainly because her personality and actions didn’t need explaining or clarification. Also, I think that little insight to her mind kinda killed the whole suspense of what went down after.

All in all, it was truly a beautiful journey and ending to their relationship. This author sure knows how to keep you wanting for more with every word. I smell a Colin and Jen story up next and God knows how obsessed I am with that kind of love story… ya know, the younger sister of your friend thing and all. Also, I would also appreciate Owen getting his own book as well. Of course preferably when he’s older already.

Leave a Reply

