Book Spotlight: Astarte’s Wrath by Trisha Wolfe

16046507 copy

Astarte’s Wrath by Trisha Wolfe

One of the best fantasy/romance books I’ve read in quite a long time! Really loved this one. Action-packed with an epic forbidden romance? Who can’t say no to that?

BOOK BLURB:

A tragic love story.

Two thousand years before Dez Harkly developed her secret powers, Guardian Astarte was vowed to protect by the binds enslaving her to the Egyptian pharaohs. Discover the prophecy that originated from a very different time, and spans generations to link two very different girls.

This is the beginning.

Set against the backdrop of the Battle of Actium, in the city of Alexandria, Star struggles with her guardian duties as her feelings for the newly named pharaoh of Egypt grow deeper. Not only is Caesarion her duty, he’s the son of Cleopatra, and he’s human. All of which makes their love forbidden.

But when a conspiracy linked to Caesar creeps into Alexandria, Star must choose between helping her fellow Kythan free themselves of their servitude, and protecting her charge—the last pharaoh—while Egypt burns around her.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read! If I could give this 6/5 stars, I would.

“My title be damned. I’ve loved you for ages. And I’m going to make you mine.” 

Talk about a forbidden epic romance that took the saying “against all odds” to a whole new level! I know it says in the blurb that this would involve “A tragic love story.”, but after finishing it, I’d like to think of it as an epic romance that went beyond the earthly realm instead. More than just being a doomed and tragic romance, I think that it was actually hopeful and inspiring because it was the start of a whole new journey for the people stemming from their bloodline.

First and foremost, I would really like to commend the author for taking her time in doing a background research for this story in order to be oh-so precise with the details because my mind was completely blown away with all the descriptions, even though I admittedly at times didn’t know what the hell she was pertaining to. I do know that it was such a tedious work to research about these kinds of things and I really appreciate the fact that the author wanted to paint a clear and somewhat precise picture of Egypt during those times. I’m an avid fan of this fantasy-kind of stories, and while I prefer Greek mythology and history, I still enjoyed an insight to the Egyptian ancestry as well. I’ve been looking for a fantasy/supernatural read for quite some time and I’m glad that I made the right decision of choosing this book to read. Even though it was quite short compared to the normal length of novels, it still felt so much like a full-length novel because there were quite a lot of things that happened that my brain had to work double time in catching up. In addition, there was also so much depth and substance, especially the romance between Astarte and Xarion.

Now let me just take some time to talk about that epic romance between Astarte/Star and Caesarion/Xarion. I’m still reeling from all the feelings because I was almost instantly attached to and captivated by their story right off the bat and it just got deeper and deeper as their relationship progressed as well. I swear every single time Xarion touched Star, I felt the warmth oozing straight out of my Kindle. Theirs was such a beautiful romance that stemmed from a long and deep friendship since they were children. All their stolen moments even before Xarion made his bold declaration of love really gave me the butterflies, especially during their rather sensuous dance during the festival. Their chemistry and attraction to each other was just so palpable that I was quite shocked that they didn’t act on it sooner, but of course there’s the problem of their romance being so very much forbidden in so many ways. I understood where Star was coming from when she rejected Xarion’s proposals one after the other, which made the moment when they finally gave in so much more beautiful that I teared up.

“This is what I was created to do.”

“Curse the gods. You were created to be with me.”

And then of course, that was also around the time when all hell broke loose in Alexandria.

Now let’s move onto the action. Given the vivid description of Egypt during those days, I expected nothing less than intensely detailed when it came to the action and fight scenes as well…and I was not disappointed. My heart raced with every gripping moment and I really felt so much for Star during the times when she fought so hard not only to save Xarion but the rest of their people as well.

I’m not really spoiling anything because it did say that this story would involve a tragic romance and when I finally got to that point, the tears just started flowing. Thank heavens for that beautiful epilogue. It was wrapped up beautifully and at the same time, it also held so much promise for the future of Kythans as well. Just to give you a hint of what to expect at the ending…

He strokes my jawline, lifting my face and my gaze meets his emerald eyes–clear and vibrant–like time never passed between us. “You’re home,” he says, his voice stirring all my love.
“You are my home.”
Xarion’s lips caress mine as I’m welcomed past the gates of the underworld.

Leave a Reply

