Book Spotlight: The Bet by Rachel Van Dyken

17560674

The Bet by Rachel Van Dyken

I always love when authors infuse some genuine comedy into their stories because let’s be real, heavy emotional novels are very exhausting and tiring. This is one of the few new adult novels that I really loved because of the humour in it that really went well with the whole plot.

BOOK BLURB:

“I have a proposition for you…”

Kacey should have run the minute those words left Seattle millionaire Jake Titus’s mouth. Instead, she made a deal with the devil in hopes of putting her past behind her once and for all.

Four days.

She could do four days!

But she wasn’t counting on Jake’s older brother Travis being there to witness their farce of an engagement.

One thing is for certain.

One brother is right for her.

One wants a lifetime.

And one is in league with the devil.

She should have gotten Jake’s signature in blood.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read for its refreshing comedic touch!

Possibly the funniest new adult novel I’ve ever read! I can’t even begin to describe how I much I loved all the witty banter among all the characters in this story. This is why I have a special spot for stories involving longtime childhood friends. Thrown in hot brothers in the mix and I’m all for it as well! The storyline was pretty simple. The characters were grounded and the pacing of the story was just right. Even though it wasn’t your typical heavy angsty novel, I appreciated it all the more because of its simplicity and how well it was written.

Now why the hell didn’t I grow up with two hot brothers? Okay it hasn’t always been that easy for Kacey growing up with Travis and Jake and I really felt for her from the get-go. She’s probably one of my favorite new adult heroines because she has the right amount of snarkiness and vulnerability, which is something I can relate to as well. Don’t get me started on the jerkface that is Jake Titus. I have to admit, I understand his charm and all but man, I just hate that he’s so bent on strengthening his jerk facade instead of being a true best friend for Kacey. AND TRAVIS TRAVIS TRAVIS. I love how the author made it appear that Jake could be ‘the’ guy at first with all his charm and charisma, but then Travis swoops in and gets all the swoonworthy points and you just forget all about Jake and his jerkface-ness. Finally, I have to give major props to grandma. I mean come on, she the one who made this story happen.

Here are some of my favorite funny moments:

“I hate bears.” Travis felt like he was ten all over again. Kacey had asked him why he was crying, and he’d told her it was because Care Bears were on TV again.
That Christmas she’d bought him a Care Bear.
He’d cried.
Again.

—–

“If you ask me to spoon you, I’m going to smother you with my pillow,” he grumbled.
“Please, like I want your favorite appendage anywhere near my body.”
“Keep telling yourself that, Kace.”
“Night, Satan.”
“Night, sweetie.” 

—–

If only I could quote the whole book actually. I also found myself laughing out loud with the whole eggs and spitting thing among many other funny moments. But aside from the laughs, there were also quite a lot of swoony moments thanks to Travis. I seriously teared up when Kacey saw the video of Travis during one of their Christmases together. It was just amazing how much he has loved her all these years, even though he had a rude and weird way of showing it when they were much younger.

And here’s a few of the reasons why I fell in love with Travis:

“Because of you, Kace. Everything I do, everything I’ve done in my life, it’s all because of you.”

—–

“Where have you been all my life?” “Home. I’ve been home, waiting for you.”

Leave a Reply

