Book Spotlight: Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase

17837821

Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase

Princess Diaries for the new adult audience? Most definitely an A+ in my book. This is one feel good book that could serve as a refreshing break from your all the heavy stories that seem to be the trend nowadays. Oh, did I mention a yummy and kinda kinky prince charming? Check out why I’m head over heels for this book by Nichole Chase!

BOOK BLURB:

Samantha Rousseau is used to getting her hands dirty. Working toward a master’s degree in wildlife biology while helping take care of her sick father, she has no time for celebrity gossip, designer clothes, or lazy vacations. So when a duchess from the small country of Lilaria invites her to dinner, Samantha assumes it’s to discuss a donation for the program. The truth will change the course of her life in ways she never dreamed.

Alex D’Lynsal is trying to keep his name clean. As crown prince of Lilaria, he’s had his share of scandalous headlines, but the latest pictures have sent him packing to America and forced him to swear off women—especially women in the public eye. That is, until he meets Samantha Rousseau. She’s stubborn, feisty, and incredibly sexy. Not to mention heiress to an estate in his country, which makes her everyone’s front-page news.

While Sam tries to navigate the new world of politics and wealth, she will also have to dodge her growing feelings for Alex. Giving in to them means more than just falling in love; it would mean accepting the weight of an entire country on her shoulders.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite butterflies-in-your-stomach must-read!

Princess Diaries with a yummier and much naughtier prince? HELL FREAKIN’ YEAH!!!

I already adored Nichole Chase’s writing ever since I read Flukes so it’s no surprise how much I completely fell in love with Suddenly Royal as well. Even though the concept is really not that original, I still loved her fresh take on it as well as the whole story development and character dynamics.

I really can’t say much about the plot because I do think it’s pretty predictable enough based on the title alone. It’s really quite an addicting read that even though I really wanted to take my time and savour each page, I can’t help but turn it one after the other because I just had to know what would happen next. I adored all the characters in the story. There weren’t much angst actually, which I found very refreshing. The majority of the book was about how Samantha dealt with the revelation of being a royalty in a foreign land and the implications that it had on her life. It did help that she had the assistance and guidance of a hot prince who’s hellbent on wooing her as well.

Now onto His Royal Highness, Prince Yummy. I honestly thought that this would be just as wholesome as the Princess Diaries movies, but thank heavens for this steamier version! I fell in-love with Prince Alex at first sight of his smirk and smile and his attraction and chemistry with Samantha was just so intense right off the bat.

“Besides, you’ll be on all the men’s radar when you get there. Beautiful, American, intelligent, and funny. Not to mention your comic-book knowledge. I might have some competition.” 

All cocky and naughty innuendos aside, Prince Alex was just as reliable when it came to helping Samantha ease into the life of royalty in Lilaria. Indeed, he kinda literally became the prince who saved the damsel in distress when Samantha needed him the most. I did understand Samantha’s hesitation at first to give in to her attraction to Prince Alex and I commend him for standing his ground and not giving up on winning her heart as well. Because holy smokes, once she finally gave into him, I swear I saw fireworks exploding!!! Who knew the prince had it in him to be that hot and amazing (in bed) right? The build-up to their moment was perfect and I completely turned to mush each and every time Prince Alex prioritized being with Samantha and attending to her needs over everything else.

“You’re it for me. I knew it the moment I saw you tell off the maître d’ at the restaurant. Do you understand? You’re it. I love you. That sketch was of the moment I fell in love with you.”
“You love me?”
“Yes, I love you.”
“I love you. Can you tell me again when I’m not on pain medicine?”
“I’ll tell you every day.”
“Maybe twice a day?”
“A hundred times a day.”
 

At first, I thought that they’d have to deal with power-hungry royals in Lilaria and that would be the main twist in the story but I was wrong. I already felt what was about to happen halfway past and I braced myself for the heartbreak and tears that were bound to come with that heart-wrenching moment. And that’s the most that I’ll say about what happened. Aside from Samantha and Prince Yummy, I also fell in love with the supporting characters most especially Chadwick, Cathy, and Jess. All in all this was one heckuva lovely read 🙂 This is the perfect break from overly angsty novels and it did give me the right amount of happy flails and heart flutters as well.

Leave a Reply

