Series Round-Up: Slammed Series by Colleen Hoover

slammed-series

I’m going out on a limb by saying this has got to be one of the best new adult series EVER. I can’t even begin to explain the impact and influence these books have on my life. When I first started with Slammed, I really did not know what to expect and that’s why I was completely blown away with the depth and substance even with such a simple plot. And of course, the same thing happened with Point of Retreat and This Girl (which is my favorite within the series as well).

Indeed, Colleen Hoover is one of the best storytellers and story-weavers in my opinion. I really don’t know how she does it, but these books just have so much heart that my own heart was really crushed because this series had to end. I had some serious Will and Layken withdrawals after This Girl because it felt like I was already a part of their journey.

Definitely one of my most favorite reads of all time. I won’t even bother rating these books separately because all of them deserve a perfect 5 rating!

slammed-colleen-hoover

Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover 

BOOK BLURB:

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

MY REVIEW:

Possibly one of the most inspiring books I’ve read in my life!!! The last time a book got to me like this was The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. It wasn’t just about the swoon-worthy guy, it was about all the life-altering lessons within every page in the story. And okay, about 60% of it is about the swoon-worthy all-around perfectly imperfect guy.

So you keep your ocean, I’ll take the Lake. 

This story is like a quiet and peaceful storm, but a storm nevertheless. It stirs and awakens something in you and you just know that the words you just read were somehow really meant for you and your life. Hah. I’m just taking a breather before I continue on reading Point of Retreat. I’m giving myself some time to absorb everything that I’ve just read. This is basically why I love reading fiction. Even if it’s purely make-believe, it gives me a greater insight to my reality more than anything that real life itself has given me.

So excuse me while I drown myself in The Avett Brothers’ music.

“Sometimes life gets in your way.
it gets all up in your damn way.
But it doesn’t get all up in your damn way
because it wants you to just give up and let it take control.
Life doesn’t get all up in your damn way because it just wants you to hand it all over and be carried along.

Life wants you to fight it
Learn how to make it your own.
it wants you to grab and axe and hack through the wood.
It wants you to get a sledgehammer and break through concrete.
It wants you to grab a torch and burn through the metal and steel until you can reach through and grab it.

Life wants you to grab all the organized, the alphabetized, the chronological, the sequenced. It wants you to mix it all together,
stir it up,
blend it.”

point-of-retreat-colleen-hoover

Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover

BOOK BLURB:

Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart.

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’

MY REVIEW:

Inasmuch as I’d like to write a worthy review of this book, I just can’t seem to bring myself to do so. I’m just going to let all the tears I’ve shed and tissues I’ve used last night while reading this book speak for themselves.

Oh, and I cried A LOT A LOT. Dammit Will Cooper, you butterflying flawless human being.

…my sweet is right now. 

I…and love…and you.

this-girl

This Girl (Slammed #3) by Colleen Hoover 

BOOK BLURB:

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from hispoint of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

MY REVIEW:

What a butterflying piece of literary perfection!!! Ladies and gentlemen, this is how you write a novel, which was originally from a girl’s POV, and then turned into a guy’s POV instead.

It’s a bittersweet ending for one of my most favorite contemporary novels ever but even though it does sadden me having to say goodbye to Will and Layken, I do think that this is such a beautiful ending to their amazing journey together as well. I expected nothing short of amazing and awesome from Colleen and she did live up to my expectations with this novel in Will’s POV. I haven’t been this satisfied with other novels that were written originally from the girl’s POV and then re-written from the guy’s POV, primarily because all the other authors did was to tweak a few details but maintain the flow of what exactly happened in the original novel. Colleen did such an amazing job of weaving through this story and she most certainly went beyond giving us just another side of Slammed. This Girl is so much more than that… it’s certainly a novel that has enough depth and power to hold its own.

tumblr_mkl87fbY2Z1rg3f37o1_500

“This girl isn’t anything like any girl I’ve known. This girl is…” 

Holy butterflies, I don’t even know where to begin. Learning what went through Will’s mind before as he told his side of things during their honeymoon felt like I was also there sharing this moment with them. Even though I basically knew the main flow of the story, I still found myself shedding tears all over again with some of their most memorable moments together, not to mention those heart-wrenching slam poetry pieces that never fails to pierce right through my heart.

“This feeling I get when I’m with her…I’ve missed it. I’ve missed that feeling of feeling.”

“Layken Cooper, I love you. I’ve loved you since the second I laid eyes on you and I haven’t stopped loving you for a second since.”

“Wife,” I say, staring straight into her eyes. “Think what you want, but there isn’t a single woman in this whole damn universe that I could ever love like I love you.”

If anything, this final installment to Layken and Will’s journey made me feel so much more than the previous two. It’s like hearing it from Will’s side gave what they went through so much more meaning and importance. The love between these characters was so palpable that I actually forget that they’re basically fictional characters. They’re so alive in my heart that the fact that I have to kind of say goodbye to them really hurts. I really have to thank Colleen for making me feel so much in this simple yet utterly remarkable love story. Here’s to the little moments and sweet words in this series that made me believe that that kind of unconditional love between two people could actually exist even in real life.

I couldn’t recommend this series enough and as my final farewell tribute to Will and Layken, here are some of my most favorite lines from the slam poetry pieces featured in this book:

“So you keep your ocean, I’ll take the Lake.”

—–

“She looked down at the vast, barren valley below
us, then she looked back up at me and she
smiled.
She smiled.
She looked at me and smiled and said…
“Are you ready?”
And I was.
I finally was.
I had never been more ready in my life.
Yeah…
This girl.”

—–

“And life definitely doesn’t want me
To just let it tell me
that the girl I met—
The beautiful, strong, amazing, resilient girl
That I fell so hard for—
Should only come in third.
Life knows.
Life is trying to tell me
That the girl I love?
The girl I fell
So hard for?
There’s room for her in first.
I’m putting her first.”

—–

“It takes time, but it’s starting to make sense.
I still miss them every time I take a breath.
Their absence will never go unnoticed.
But every smile on your face seems to replace
A memory I’d rather not hold
Each time you laugh, it fills a void
Each kiss heals another wound in my soul
If my dad were here, he’d be sitting with you
He’d be hugging you…saying thank you.
Thank you for saving my boy.
Thank you for bringing light to his world.”

—–

“But occasionally…
Not very often at all,
If we’re lucky,
If we pay enough attention,
We’ll find a
perfect match.
The pieces of that puzzle that slide right in
The pieces that hug the contours of our own
pieces.
The pieces that lock us.
The pieces that we lock to.
The pieces that fit so well, we can’t tell where
our piece begins
And that piece ends.”

—-

Excuse me as I do some ugly sobbing right now.

tumblr_m6g4wlDqqJ1rziwwco1_500tumblr_m6yrdogPrj1rziwwco1_500

Leave a Reply

