Book Spotlight: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

11500217

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

I really have to warn you beforehand, my review below contains quite a lot of grammatical errors and raw feelings. I just finished this book yesterday and I’m still a jumbled mess of conflicting feelings because of the action-packed ending that made me stop breathing for a while.

With that said, this was definitely one of my favorite angel/dystopian books! I really did not expect the stuff that happened in the story and I’m counting the days till I get my hands on its sequel.

BOOK BLURB:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read for dystopian and angel-themed story lovers!

HOLY FREAKIN’ ARCHANGELS!!! Dear heavens, I don’t even know where and how to start this review. Okay *deep breaths* woooooooo. I guess I’ll try to start with when I began reading this book. In all honesty, I think the story started out quite slower than I liked and that made me stall a bit in continuing and finishing with this. It’s not that I thought this was not good, it was quite the opposite because I know the slow build up at the beginning was just a precursor to an intense and action-packed ending…AND I WAS RIGHT.

To make things easier on my part, I think I’ll just categorize this review instead:

THE ACTION: Like what I said, things started on a much slower pace. For Penryn, it was a matter of being at an unfortunate scenario at the right time that made her lose her sister and come face to face with our troubled angel Raffe. Now I’ve read my fair share of angel-demon dystopian novels but I was quite floored because of how unique this story was compared to everything I’ve read. I was certainly not expecting those kinds of twisted and demented situations to the point that I found myself cringing and taking a breather before taking in the vivid descriptions of what Penryn encounters. And it was just gruesome. Inasmuch as I want to give a few hints and giveaways, I think it’s best to leave it to you to discover everything yourself because it was really worth getting the shock and surprise. I swear, you’ll really hold you breath most of the time at the second half book and I’m pretty sure you’re bound to lose your wits at the last 25%.

THE ROMANCE/CHEMISTRY: Okay so romance wasn’t really a huge part of this book, and I appreciate the fact that the author focused on the actual plot instead of coming up with a romance story on the side just to keep things interesting. BUT, I also have to thank her for giving us a promise of a forbidden romance that had the most delicious slow burn all throughout the story. Even from the start of their teaming up, you can already feel the building unspoken tension and attraction between Penryn and Raffe and let’s just say that the author did give us a preview of what’s to come…AND IT WAS PERFECT!!! I seriously lived for the moments when Raffe let his guard down with Penryn and just to give you a sneak peek, here are two of my favorite moments when my heart just skipped a beat or two:

“What if they don’t let us go through?”
“They will.”
“How do you know?”
“Because you have the look they’re looking for.”
“What look is that?”
“Beautiful.”

——

“So producing children with humans gets you damned because Nephilims are a big no-no, but anything up to that…?”
“Apparently, they’ve decided that’s a gray zone. It could get them all burned.”
…”But the fire can be tempting.”

The fact that he started out as a cocky and self-assured angel and then turned into the perfect partner and almost-forbidden-lover to Penryn was just oh-so amazing and swoonworthy.

THE WRITING/PLOT/CHARACTERS: This story pretty much had the perfect progression, pacing, and development. There were some quiet moments that made the story lag a bit but all the action and surprise twists more than made up for it. And again, even though you’ve already read a number of angel-dystopian stories, I still highly recommend you start reading this because the uniqueness of this one will certainly blow your mind. I’m actually kinda excited if this really would be turned into a movie because that would surely be one hell (pun intended) of a thing to watch on the big screen. Aside from Penryn and Raffe, I also have to commend the rest of the supporting characters among which my favorites would have to be Penryn’s mom, Obi, and Dee-Dum.

THE ENDING: Holy hell’s babies. Like what I said, it’s hard to breathe evenly at the last 25% of the story, especially at the ending. My heart was crushed, broken, then there was a strong sense of uncertainty and wee bit of hope shining through as well.

So… when’s the next book coming out? I swear I need it right now.

Leave a Reply

