Book Spotlight: Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines

17333880

Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines

BOOK BLURB:

Life outside of her house was a new experience for Della Sloane. The dark secrets of her past weren’t something she ever intended to share with anyone. They would never understand. No one would ever get close enough to find out. There was always a chance she’d go crazy sooner than they expected…

Woods Kerrington had never been one to be attracted to fragile females. They seemed like too much work. He wasn’t in it for the work just the pleasure. A night full of naughty fun had been exactly what was on his mind when he’d laid eyes on the hot little number that didn’t know how to pump gas and needed some help.

What he didn’t know was she was as fragile as they came.
The carefree girl who spoke her mind and didn’t care what the world thought of her was more breakable than he could ever imagine…

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read for Abbi Glines fans! Her best work so far in my opinion! Team Woods!

I dare say that this is without a doubt the best Abbi Glines book that I’ve read!!! And yes, I’ve read every single one of her books. I honestly didn’t know what to expect with Woods’ story but I was really curious because of how his character developed from Fallen Too Far to Never Too Far. Yes, he was the stereotypical rich trust-fund baby but I knew that there was quite a lot of depth underneath that country club boy facade.

I really don’t know why, but I didn’t feel a real connection to Rush and Blaire’s story and that’s why I was a bit hesitant as well to dive into Woods’ story. Thank goodness I was wrong with my assumptions because I instantly fell in love with his and Della’s story right off the bat. Yes, they had an instant attraction but it wasn’t an intense insta-against-all-odds-love. They both had to overcome their own demons, especially Della. I probably can’t say anything more but I really love how their story developed. They both did try to do the “right thing” but when those right things didn’t seem so right anymore, especially for Woods, those walls easily crumbled and gave way for them to finally be together.

Okay I’ll start with Della Sloane first and I guess I just have to get this out of my system: Della >>> Blaire. This girl has been through a lot. And by that I don’t mean family drama issues like the one Blaire had and escaped from. Della has some serious baggage but she still faces life head on and with a strong determination to get over her inner monsters and fears. Yes, she has a little bit of damsel-in-distress going on but she’s not completely helpless because she does strive to work on it on her own.

WOODS “hot stuff and naughty boy” KERRINGTON. Seriously, this book could’ve been titled “Woods’ Perfection” for all I care because he was just so amazing in this one. And yes, I’d choose Woods Kerrington over Rush Finlay any damn day. I honestly think that I have a serious thing for those uptight-at-first guys who then let their inner bad boys loose instead of your bad boy upfront kind. I perfectly understood Woods’ actions at first, going through with his faux engagement and all, instead of just easily giving it up for Della because that would’ve been quite unbelievable. The tension and attraction between them was just so palpable, I seriously thought that my Kindle could burst into flames anytime. Of course, I also jumped for joy when Woods did finally come to his senses and decided once and for all to go after what and who he wants and believe me, Woods Kerrington on a mission is one undeniably hot man. And just when I thought I couldn’t fall harder for Woods after he finally went for Della, my heart seriously combusted with the way he looked after Della with her night terrors and anxiety attacks, plus how he steadfastly believed that Della would be able to get over and fight her inner demons. I also adored how he never doubted any second after he made the decision to look after Della as well as his caveman possessiveness tendencies. I think it was also touching the way he reminisced about his grandparents’ love story. It added to the perfect balance of Woods’ character’s vulnerability and strength.

“You love me?” Hearing her say it made my heart soar. She knew.
“Yes. More than life.”

“I don’t want to destroy you.”
“Losing you would be the only thing that could destroy me.”
“But what if I lose my mind?”
“You won’t. I won’t let you.”
“You can’t control it.”
“You are mine. Do you hear me? You are mine, Della Sloane. I will take care of you. Nothing is taking you away from me. Nothing.” 

And then there was the gut-wrenching scene towards the end when my heart seriously skipped a beat. But again, the way Woods handled it was so perfect that I can’t help but burst into tears as well. God, I could go on and on with how much I loved this story and with how much I love Woods but the space wouldn’t be enough. I wasn’t really surprised that there was indeed a cliffhanger but WOWZA, that was one helluva open-ended cliffhanger right there. A lot could still happen to Woods and Della’s story, and I’m especially curious as to how Woods would deal with it. But even though I’m kinda scared with what they’ll have to go through in the next book, I really believe that Woods would be able to push through especially with Della by his side.

P.S. Can Tripp get his own book, please? Perhaps a story about finding love on the road, etc. I’m seriously curious with his character and his desire to be a free-spirited individual.

2 comments

  1. Looking forward to reading this book!

    1. Best Abbi Glines book in my opinion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

