Book Spotlight: Blind Obsession by Ella Frank

17788100

Blind Obssesion by Ella Frank

BOOK BLURB:

Obsession, defined as the domination of one’s thoughts or feelings by a persistent idea, image or desire….

Chantel Rosenberg’s passion for music and life had never shone brighter than the time she spent in Bordeaux France. It’s a time when feelings arose and desires ran deep, a time that fundamentally changed her life.

A man living in seclusion, Phillipe Tibideau is haunted and plagued by memories he cannot disregard. Choosing to live a quiet life in his Chateau surrounded by the vineyards of France, he’s left his passion for art behind.

However, the time has arrived to tell his side of a tale. A tale that has depicted him as a ‘beautiful monster’ and he’s finally allowing someone close.

Close enough to ask questions. Questions he’s not sure he wants to answer. Questions about her.

For up and coming journalist Gemma Harris, the pursuit of truth is what drives her and when a job of a lifetime presents itself there is nothing in the world that will stop her from taking it. Even if it does mean leaving her home for several months to stay at Chateau Tibideau, with him.

This is a story of what happens when three passionate lovers collide and the desire for truth, art and music merge.

Chateau Tibideau is a place full of unanswered questions, dark sinful desire and a beauty so hauntingly sad it will have you wondering how you will ever leave the same…

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite haunting must-read!

Love looks not with the eyes but with the mind, and, therefore, is winged cupid painted blind. 

Well, I think it’s safe to say that this novel made me question my sanity. Right off the bat, I got these Dorian Gray vibes and I knew that this story would haunt me even days after I finished it… and I was right. I can’t even form thoughts that are coherent enough for a review because all my feelings and thoughts are still jumbled together in my mind and heart. Honestly, I don’t even know how to classify this story—is it a tragic romance story with a bit of paranormal perhaps? An epic love story of sorts but with a dark twist to it? I don’t even know. All I know is that I was completely mindfvcked.

“They feed off one another,” he tells me as his lips brush a kiss against my head. “They’re each so flawless in their transitions that you start to believe they’re all one and the same.” 

Philippe Tibideau captured my heart and mind from the very start. I guess it’s just me and my twisted weakness for guys like him who just has this certain dark intensity surrounding them. This story unraveled not only one, but three love stories all intertwined in a very crazy and haunting way that I can’t even begin to describe using the right words.

The author couldn’t have chosen a better suited title primarily because you REALLY have to make yourself blind to all your inhibitions, all the taboos, and whatever the society dictates, in order to understand the real story behind these characters. With the alternating POVs, even I lost control over how to think about this story because I myself felt like I became blind… like in my imagination. And I guess that helped in making mefeel more instead. If anything, this story was all about feeling. The kind of feelings that just seep into your soul and that are just too intense for you to ever let go of. And in my opinion, that’s exactly what happened to Philippe, Chantel, and Gemma. What they felt for each other were just too intense to ever let go of for the rest of their lives, as twisted as that may be.

I confess softly, “She was intoxicated, just as I am.”
Nestling his head forward, he flicks his tongue against the small indentation in my tummy. Against my flesh, he reveals, “God help me, so am I, Gemma.”
 

Before you get the wrong idea, there’s no threesome going on here… at least not what you initially thought about threesomes. Threesome physically? No. Threesome mentally and emotionally? Possibly. I knew that a typical happy ending would’ve destroyed the story but having that knowledge did not do anything to ease the pain as I got to the ending. My heart clenched all night as I cried after finishing the story. And yes, I know the author won’t work on any sequels but I’d like to imagine that someday… in their future, they would once again come together and just live out the rest of their lives together… just as it should be.

I highly recommend this story for all of those who are just fans of mindfvcking stories that just get to you in a very, very deep way. If you’re tired of the usual, and sometimes bland, love stories, then this would surely do the trick in making you feel deeply again. But I guess, I do have to give fair warning that this is not for the faint-hearted as well BUT if you do decide to take on this novel, I assure you that you’ll get so much more than you bargained for. Definite worthwhile must-read.

P.S. I can totally see this novel being made into a movie. Probably not something too mainstream or too Hollywood in order to keep the haunting feel of this beautiful yet tragic love story as well.

Leave a Reply

