Book Spotlight: Apollyon by Jennifer L. Armentrout

17735124

Apollyon by Jennifer L. Armentrout

BOOK BLURB:

Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — One of my all-time favorites!

(Warning: I’m going to use Max Irons GIFs for this post so please bear with me.)

tumblr_mjpslw8eNM1s5lbcuo4_250

WHERE TO START WHERE TO START!!! Holy daimon babies of mother freakin’ council members. There are just no words to describe my feelings right now. It feels like I’ve waited for a decade for Apollyon and now it’s over and I’m back to my moping ways, while I wait for Sentinel.

Of course we all knew that Alex was bound to break the connection. But even with this knowledge, I was still moved to tears when the connection was indeed finally broken. Especially that scene where Alex was about to annihilate Aiden and all he did was wait and accept Alex’s wrath. And when the connection finally snapped…

tumblr_mjug43Hwk41qbzdqqo2_250PERFECT SCENE IS JUST PERFECT.

It was nice to have good old snarky Alex back! And of course, I was just over the moon with how Aiden remained strong and steadfast in helping Alex break the connection.

Alex: “My Seth? Oh, yuck. I wanted to scrub out my brain with detergent. And those things I’d yelled when I fought Aiden—actually fought Aiden? Scrub my brain? Add mouth and soul to that laundry list. 

Aiden: “To love is not weak. Love is the strongest thing there is.” 

FYI, this is my Aiden St. Delphi. Ben Barnes may be a bit overused when it comes to book boyfriends, but he’s just the most perfect fit for Aiden in my opinion.

Ben-Barnes-04“Eíste pánta mou…”

AIDEN FREAKIN’ ST. DELPHI. I swear a possible alternative title to this book could be “The Perfection That is Aiden St. Delphi”. If I could offer one whole review just for him, I really would. This was basically my face every single sweet moment between Aiden and Alex, which was like almost all the time in this book. (Thank you Jennifer!!!)

tumblr_mkl87fbY2Z1rg3f37o1_500Gods I love you so much, Aiden “please have my babies” St. Delphi.

I was just on an all-time high because of Aiden finally breaking out of his tough and solid Sentinel exterior and becoming a more vulnerable (and super sweet) guy who’s just deeply in-love. I was quite pleased to witness this more human side to him… not to mention quite naughty. Uhm major yum. I mean the fact that he’s a fan of water…action… yeah, those scenes were hot. Indeed, he’s a man starved alright. P.S. Please dear gods and Jennifer Armentrout, don’t let anything bad happen to him. PLEASE!

Back to Alex. I knew there was a reason why she’s my favorite heroine of all time.

600full-kaya-scodelario

Our little Apollyon has come a long, long way from her reckless and irrational ways. The fact that she had to go through a lot of hardships and learn valuable lessons along the way made her journey so much more beautiful and meaningful. She really did man up in this one and while she still had some mistakes here and there, all in all she really did become more mature and strong—physically, mentally, and emotionally.

tumblr_mjysrsPUA21s5ztj9o2_250Well done, Alexandria. Well done.

Of course Alex couldn’t have done it without Aiden and the rest of the gang. I’m really loving their whole A-team and the fact that they’re united and steadfast in the common goal of stopping Seth and Lucian’s plans. All of them really stepped up and it was nice to see how they set their differences in order to help Alex. Gods, I also loved all their witty banter, especially the ones with Luke, Deacon, and even Apollo a.k.a. the god whole loves dropping by during some of Aiden & Alex’s steamy moments.

Then of course there are our favorite bad guys: Seth, Lucian, and the god behind all this fiasco. I know there were some clues in the previous books that kind of give a hint as to who the god is, but I really didn’t get it from those subtle hints. Actually, I figured it out just because it was quite obvious. I mean who else would be this bloodthirsty and who would put that much effort into creating some major discord among the gods, pures, half-bloods, and even mortals? Yep, there’s only one ruthless god who’s capable of doing so.

And this is what I have to say to you dear ruthless god… tumblr_mkductCILO1qlxvxuo1_500EFF. YOU. ARES!!!

Even though Seth wasn’t physically present in this one, we still got a healthy dose of his presence through his connection to Alex. I was kinda torn ’cause he did show many sides to him in this one. It would be easy to just hate him all throughout except for the fact that you know for sure that he’s just one lost and lonely boy. Their talk when Alex was in the Underworld really got to me because it was like seeing the very vulnerable and human side of Seth, which he seldom shows. I really know there’s still a chance of saving him but how it’s going to happen is not something I can dwell upon right now.

But for now… I am warning you Seth and Lucian. I am not pleased at all. Stop this madness right now.tumblr_lxfvkiFDgm1r5ruse

All in all, Apollyon was everything I could’ve hoped for. It was most certainly worth the wait, although I kinda wish it was a bit longer ’cause I just couldn’t get enough of these characters and this story. It was one helluva rollercoaster ride, especially towards the end.

tumblr_mgsnym5W781rut2d7o1_500

And now, please kindly excuse me while I try to keep myself busy while I wait for Sentinel’s release

13605723

Leave a Reply

