Book Spotlight: Own The Wind by Kristen Ashley

16163690

Own the Wind (Chaos Novel, #1) by Kristen Ashley

BOOK BLURB:

Too hot to handle…

Tabitha Allen grew up in the thick of Chaos–the Chaos Motorcycle Club, that is. Her father is Chaos’ leader, and the club has always had her back. But one rider was different from the start. When Tabby was running wild, Shy Cage was there. When tragedy tore her life apart, he helped her piece it back together. And now, Tabby’s thinking about much more than friendship…

Tabby is everything Shy’s ever wanted, but everything he thinks he can’t have. She’s beautiful, smart, and as his friend’s daughter, untouchable. Shy never expected more than friendship, so when Tabby indicates she wants more–much morehe feels like the luckiest man alive. But even lucky men can crash and burn…

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read, especially for biker novel fans!

Uhm… WOW. You know those books that you’re a bit hesitant to read because you really just don’t know what to expect, but then you eventually read it and end up getting completely blown away with just how good it actually is? Well, this is one of those books and considering that this is my first time to really get into the world of hardcore bikers, you can consider me hooked and utterly wow-ed!!!

Although I may be quite familiar with some of Kristen Ashley’s other novels, this is actually the first time that I really got around to reading her work. I honestly didn’t know what to expect but I guess there was something in the blurb that piqued my curiosity. So I started trying to get a feel of the story at first and ended up getting sucked into it thanks to that elaborate and well set-up prologue.

As a fan of well developed love stories, I have to applaud the author for taking her time in getting Shy and Tab’s love story in place. It’s not your typical boy-meets-girl and rainbows-and-unicorns love story and it wasn’t really easy getting to the place they both wanted to be in.

Another important factor that really drew me into this story was the setting and narration used. Every word was tailor made to make you feel as if you’re actually living the world the characters were living in as well. Yeah I got confused at first and I didn’t even understand some of the terminologies, but then I got used to it and I started to appreciate the effort it took for the author to really give you the experience of being in the world of hardcore bikers.

And finally, the characters. Parker “Shy Cage was of course the biggest factor that kept me reading this novel. He’s not perfect, no. He’s not even your typical prince charming. He’s actually more of a dark knight that manages to sweep you off your feet and suck you into his dark world. He’s the “take it or leave it” kind of guy but then again, who wouldn’t want to take him right?

“You need a safe place just to forget shit and escape, I’ll give it to you. Tonight. Tomorrow. Next week. Next month. That safe place is me, Tabby.”

—–

“The point of findin’ that is to have that feeling, be able to give that gift, to work at keepin’ it good so my woman never feels lost because she knows she’ll never be without me.”

—–

“So you were gone for me?”
“You and me may not have been tight since the day we first saw each other, but am I the kind of guy who hangs around listenin’ to bitches moan about work while ruining a dinner I gotta eat?”
“No.”
“Gone for you.” 

—–

Just reading how much he loves and adores Tab is beyond what my heart could take,and I swear my heart can take in a lot, but Shy was just that amazing and awesome. The fact that he’s not even the kind to just give in or compromise easily to his woman’s whims and wishes and yet he’s still able to rationalize things and make it right for them at the end of the day just blows my mind. All the things he said to Tab while trying to fix whatever predicament they’re in was like getting a refreshing 101 on how to go about new relationships. I’m also glad that even though Tab was considered a princess in their world, she still did not turn out to be a self-centered brat. Yes, she didn’t understand Shy’s ways at first but when she did, she embraced it wholeheartedly and took in all that Shy had to offer—both the good and the bad.

I admit that there were quite some parts where I kinda got lost. But I do think it was a necessity since this book is the first installment in a series and serves as a foundation for future references in the next books. And since most of us really don’t know what it’s like in the world of bikers, the “extra” parts helped in making you see the different facets of their lives. In addition, I also love the rest of the characters as well. I completely adored Tab’s dad and stepmom as well as Landon, Shy’s brother. Although I’m curious with Hop and Lanie’s story, which is the next book, I’m really hoping to see Landon get his own happy ever after as well. I also kinda smell a Rush-Natalie story somewhere in there, though I still hate that woman’s guts.

That said, this book is a definite must-read! I’m having Shy withdrawals as I type this review.

Leave a Reply

