Series Round-Up: Dark Light Series by S.L. Jennings

dark-light-series

Dark Light (Dark Light Series, #1) & The Dark Prince (Dark Light Series, #2) by S.L. Jennings

Can I just first comment on how gorgeous the covers are? I swear these covers basically capture the essence of these books: LOVE. SEX. MAGIC.

To be honest, I had mixed feelings after reading Dark Light. I think it was because of the intense insta-love that happened between Dorian and Gabriella. I did warm up to them as the first book progressed but I still had some reservations. But then I wasn’t able to resist reading The Dark Prince because of the freakin’ cliffhanger of Dark Light and thanks to the second installment, I am now officially in-love with this series. And yes, I am totally now a solid Dorian-Gabriella shipper!

The second book definitely erased all my doubts and reservations about the first book and I found myself wishing that the story would just go on forever and ever and ever… well you get the picture. And since I didn’t really give the first book a proper review, I’m only going to feature my review for the second book. But don’t let my previous doubts hinder you from diving into this series! If you’re a fan of paranormal romance, then this is one helluva story for you to start reading like… right now.

BOOK BLURB:

DARK LIGHT

Love. Sex. Magic.

Before her 20th birthday, Gabriella was pretty much clueless about all three. In love with her best guy friend since the age of 14 and too crass and intimidating for most of the male population of Colorado Springs, love and good sex were virtually a myth.

And then there’s magic. Freakin’ magic. There’s no way that legend could have a place in her less than exciting life. So why after twenty years of utter obscurity do her adopted parents hit her with the ton of bricks that is her true identity? And how the heck is she supposed to accept all this and become what she was truly created to be?

Lucky for Gabs, sexy as sin Dorian is more than equipped to help her embrace these new revelations. And while everything about him feels oh so good, she soon learns that there’s more behind his crystal blue eyes, chiseled body and exotic beauty. Something dark, menacing and downright unnatural. Yet Gabs is in way too deep to even try to turn away from him now.

DARK PRINCE

Dorian Skotos is Dark. And although that brand of sheer, unrelenting evil is a direct threat to her life, Gabriella is tragically in love with him.

Gabriella knew it was all too good to be true. The way his touch radiated electricity right to her core, the way his ice blue eyes somehow made panties drop involuntarily, how his sexy half-smile crumbled the barriers around her heart…Dorian was extraordinary in every way.

She ignored the alarm bells for the sake of pleasure and a little slice of peace from her mixed-up life. She thought that whatever he was, she could help him. Maybe even change him. But now that the proof of Dorian’s true identity and what he was sent for is staring her in the face, Gabriella can’t deny the inevitable. And confronting that truth could very well slaughter more than just her fragile heart.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read for paranormal romance lovers! 

This second installment surely made up for what the first book lacked in action, suspense, and drama. I really didn’t give a proper review of the first book because I kept waiting for some real action to begin in addition to the steamy scenes, but there wasn’t any. However, this one took it home because it had the perfect blend of romance, gut-wrenching angst and drama, and some serious display of supernatural powers.

In all honesty, I wasn’t even that attached to Dorian and Gabriella during the earlier part of the first book and one of the main reasons why I decided to continue on reading this second book was because of the cliffhanger and the hope that there would be more to the story than just the intense insta-chemistry between the two. Thank heavens that I was right. Dorian and Gabriella’s relationship finally hit me hard and I found my chest constricting and I even shed a few tears during some of the most pivotal heartbreaking moments between the two. And they were indeed heartbreaking to the core. I seriously want to bitchslap—or maybe bitch-kill—Aurora for the pain that she caused Gabriella.

Hah. Dorian, Dorian, Dorian. I get that this was his “first” serious and loving relationship (in two and a half centuries) but how can he not know that communication is key to a solid relationship? He could’ve eased, and perhaps completely avoided, most of the pain and torture he caused Gabriella if he just clearly explained things to her right off the bat. But even though I wanted to slap him on the head for that, I can’t deny just how strong and unconditional his devotion and love was to Gabriella. There was just no room for doubt when it comes to his feelings for her. But of course shit happens and they both have to deal with it.

“But you, my love, hold the most powerful magic that this world has ever seen. And I am in love with you. You could easily decimate me by simply taking your love away.”

“Loving you is and will always be my greatest honor. You’ve done the impossible; you’ve opened me, Gabriella. And despite what the future may hold for us, I will carry that with me forever. My heart will always be yours, in life and in death.”

I was quite in a daze during their “break-up”, but thank goodness for Nikolai and Jared. I was so happy that Gabriella finally tried it with Jared even though we all knew that their relationship would end in heartbreak for Jared because there’s just no getting over Dorian. I hated that he got hurt so bad, but at the same time I can’t help but be super happy about their sweet albeit brief relationship. And then there’s Nikolai. Why wasn’t he introduced earlier??? His cocky but endearing character was the perfect addition to the dynamic of the story and he was a great friend and “comforter” to Gabriella as well.

Inasmuch as I would’ve liked for Dorian to follow through with his plans of ridding of Stavros and Aurora, I was still satisfied with the ending. It left just enough room for you to crave the next book, most especially because of that exciting and intriguing cliffhanger!

Leave a Reply

