Book Spotlight: Flukes by Nichole Chase

flukes

Flukes by Nichole Chase

BOOK BLURB:

Meena has a secret guarded closely by her family—a secret as dangerous as the sea and buried just as deep. When court-appointed community-service workers are assigned to Flukes, the family-owned animal sanctuary, everyone is on high alert. It doesn’t help that Meena finds herself attracted to sexy-as-sin Blake Weathering, one of the new workers. If he wasn’t so distracting, she might be able to land Flukes a much-needed cruise-line contract. Blake Weathering, the first in his family to attend public school, has developed a tough image. Unfortunately, it lands him in trouble. Now banned from his high school graduation ceremony, getting his diploma is dependent upon a community-service gig cleaning up fish crap. No diploma, no trust fund fortune—and no way to escape his overbearing father. The last thing he needs is the distraction of a mysterious girl with teal eyes who pulls at his heartstrings. When Blake discovers Meena’s secret, they are both thrown into a desperate search for information about her past. Two worlds pull them in opposite directions, and they will have to fight to hold on to all that really matters.

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read! 

PLEASE TELL ME THIS HAS A SEQUEL OR SPIN-OFF OR ANYTHING!!! Saying that I loved this story would be the understatement of the year. This is my first introduction to mermaid novels and I’m happy to say that it didn’t disappoint me at all! Hmm where to start. I knew I needed a break from the usual angsty new adult novels that I’ve been reading recently and I wanted to go back to my favorite fantasy/paranormal stories as well. I took a chance on this short novel thinking that it would be a great in-between read and I definitely got more than what I bargained for. This short and sweet read proves that a novel can be just as exciting and memorable in spite of its short length.

At first I thought this was going to be a little too Disney-ish for me but clearly, the new adult positioning of this story made this one far from your usual fairy tale mermaid stories. The story flow was clear, precise, and had the perfect pacing to keep you wanting for more page after page. The characters, especially Meena and Blake, were very likeable from the start and there’s just something so sweet and charming about them that I didn’t even realize that they had an insta-love at first sight as well. It felt so real and deep that I completely have no judgments for the fact that they fell in love within just weeks of knowing each other. Aside from Meena and Blake, the rest of the supporting characters were just as loveable and endearing especially Meena’s parents.

I also didn’t mind the fact that this one didn’t have a huge earth-shattering twist or set of villains, and instead kept things simpler and more grounded to Meena’s world. The only disadvantage of this short read was that I was left wanting for so much more! I can’t get enough of Blake and all his swoonworthy-ness and I would like to know more about the world of merfolks. It would REALLY be nice if this had a continuation since there are still a lot of ways that the story could go. And again, I just really want to see more of Blake and Meena’s sweet and loving relationship as well 🙂

“Chaque nuit tu hantes mes rêves… You haunt my dreams, Meena. I dream about you every night.”

“I thought you understood. I want you, Meena. All of you. For as long as I can have you. And if that is forever, then I’m damn well going to take forever. If you don’t want me, then you better speak up. And expect a fight, because I’m going to try and change your mind.”

P.S. Blake Weathering is just so utterly perfect and swoon-worthy that I’ll surely be featuring him for a special swoon-fest soon!

Leave a Reply

