Project Book Blogging 2013

So just when I thought my blog was already dead, a light bulb suddenly lit in my head! I honestly don’t have anything monumental nor exciting going on in my life right now that’s worth explaining (or blogging) since my life right now basically revolves around reading books and doing some work. And since I’m almost close to a finishing a hundred books for 2013 (can you believe it?) why not make something out of it, right?

photo

WHY NOW?

Goodreads is basically my new Facebook nowadays. Ever since a good friend of mine introduced me to the wonders of reading e-books, I finally got my hands on a Kindle Paperwhite and have never let it out of my sight even for a minute ever since. Blame it on my lack of social life or maybe that’s the aftereffect, I’m just not sure anymore, but I’ve just been reading every single day. I even prefer staying at home with my Kindle instead of making an effort to go out and meet up with my friends—yes, I’m that addicted to reading. I’m not even sorry.

I’m on a constant lookout for new books to read, while going through all my to-read books. Call me an escapist or something but yes, I do live through these fictional books that I’ve been reading and I have no regrets. I don’t even feel like I don’t have a life because of the many lives I’ve been living within these books. And since I’m constantly writing about my honest feelings and opinions on Goodreads about the books I’ve read, I’ve just decided to up the ante and post it on my personal blog as well since these books are basically my life.

WHAT AM I READING?

I originally have an inclination to fantasy/mystery books but recently, I’ve been reading more and more new adult books instead. But more often than not, I do like to mix it up. After finishing a new adult read, I go back to my fantasy books, then maybe thrown in some adult romance in the mix, and there goes my reading cycle.

I also love a well-written epic love story. I’m all for the build-up between the characters and how their story would wrap up in the end. Lastly, I love my books with some dark twist to it as well. May it be in the form of actual supernatural dark forces, some angst, some troubled past, and even twisted characters… consider me hooked.

WHAT ARE MY FAVORITE BOOKS SO FAR?

Here are a few of my most favorite books/series so far:

– Harry Potter Series (J.K. Rowling) — of course

– The Millennium Trilogy (Stieg Larsson) — Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, etc.

– Divergent Series (Veronica Roth)

– Battle Royale (Koushun Takami)

– Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

– Covenant Series (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Sempre (J.M. Darhower)

– The Fault In Our Stars (John Green)

– The Dark Duet Series (C.J. Roberts)

– Experiment in Terror Series (Karina Halle)

– World War Z (Max Brooks)

– Mara Dyer Trilogy (Michelle Hodkins)

– Hopeless & Slammed Series (Colleen Hoover)

– Neverwhere (Neil Gaiman)

– The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern)

– Brother’s Keeper (Elizabeth Finn)

… AND MANY MANY MORE!!!!

WHAT AM I LOOKING FOR IN A MUST-READ BOOK?

First and foremost, I love a book that keeps me guessing and keeps me on my toes. Yes, I do tend to spoil myself a lot by sneaking a peek at the ending but it doesn’t mean that I don’t feel anything once the story comes to an end because I still do. Sometimes, I just like to know what to expect or perhaps have some assurance on a happy ending. So yes, of course I need a story that excites me and keeps me hooked until the very end. I guess this highly depends on the pacing, and not a lot of books have a perfect pacing and story development.

And like what I said previously, I love a well-written story. For me, it all boils down to how the story is narrated and the dynamics among the characters. I tend to easily get irritated and annoyed especially with helpless and too angsty characters, and add that to a meager plot and pacing, consider the book partially read only. Sometimes you just know if a book is bound to go nowhere and I’ve had my fair share of unfinished books because of that certain gut feel. In addition, I also—more often than not—rely heavily on Goodreads reviews as well.

Now don’t think that I’m not patient with stories that have a slow build-up. I don’t mind a slow pacing at all, especially when it comes to epic love stories or well drawn out mysteries. Again, it’s all about the writing and development. There are just some stories that get you hooked right off the bat, and then there are some that take some time for the story to grow on you.

NOW WHAT?

I admit to having some grammatical errors with my reviews on Goodreads. It’s mainly because I write these reviews right after I finished reading the book so my feelings, thoughts, and opinions are basically all over the place. For me, I like it better that way. I like going back to my reviews and reading my raw thoughts about the books because it easily brings me back to the story as well.

So yes, that’s what I’m bound to do with this “Project Book Blogging”. It’s going to be all about my raw and honest opinions about the books I’ve read. I’m probably going to start by transferring some of my Goodreads reviews and probably grouping some of the books in one post as well. In addition, I’m also excited to write about my random musings such as my favorite book boyfriends, favorite book moments, favorite quotes, etc.

And that’s basically it! Ahhhh I can’t wait to start!

Leave a Reply

