The Magic of The Night Circus

“The circus arrives without warning.”

Falling in love with a story and its characters is both a blessing and a curse. And as I write, I am still in the process of moving on after I’ve recently finished reading ‘The Night Circus’.

I randomly picked this book from the bookstore and I felt that the whole concept of magic, circus, and some kind of love story, really appealed to me. I just read and stared at the brief backgrounder at the back of the book for a good two minutes and I thought right then and there that I have to buy this one.

“Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love–a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.” —Let me begin by saying that this book was indeed magical and was even made more magical and intense because of the love story.

I have to admit though, at first, I found the story somewhat slow and dragging. It’s just a really good thing that the concept of magic, illusions, and fantasy are right up my alley that I decided to continue reading on–and I sure made one hell of a good decision. I kind of regret not taking down my favorite dialogues as I normally do with the books I read, but I decided to just enjoy the feel of the whole book instead. I don’t really want to say that much about the book except that it is really worth your while if you stick with it till the end.

As I said, the story starts off a bit slow with the circus and its “cast” at the front and center. I hated the fact that my imagination wasn’t enough to do the story justice ’cause I found it hard to imagine every single detail that was said about the circus itself as well as what the performers did and how the whole cast looked like. At first, I didn’t see how a love story could come out of it but all my doubts were silenced when I got to the middle part, wherein the love story started to come out in full bloom.

I don’t know how to describe how the love story began so I’ll just use a dialogue from the book saying, “I was enchanted from the first time I saw you.” And enchanted, I really was. I really don’t know why and how but for some reason, I really felt all the tension, electricity, and of course, magic, that both the characters were feeling every single time their paths crossed. I knew I was in deep shit during this part (spoiler ahead):

My heart literally (I think) stopped beating for a moment after reading this page and I was in cloud nine. I’m a sucker for old-school and classic (and somewhat forbidden and/or ill-fated) love affairs and this one was no exception to that. I found myself wishing and praying that I get sucked inside the book and become Celia Bowen (the leading lady). I fell instantly for Marco Alisdair (the lead guy) and it didn’t help that I kept on envisioning Ben Barnes as Marco. I even teared up (okay I cried) during some of their very special moments because of the longing feeling and the overwhelming love and… okay I’ll stop now. I’m just gonna say it out loud for the universe to hear and hopefully make it happen soon: I WANT A LOVE LIKE THAT. Period.

But don’t think that the whole book was just about the love story, it wasn’t and that’s another thing I loved about it. The love story started at the middle part and before that, it was really about the whole circus and other lead characters. There’s another main story besides the love story and I suggest that you read the book to find out what it’s about.

It’s been a long time since I felt this way for a love story within a book I’m reading and I really found it hard to move on after reading its final sentences. So I tried comforting myself with the comments of my fellow readers on the Internet and I’m so happy to be in cyber-company with people who are feeling what I’m feeling. AND surprise, surprise! They’re gonna make a movie based on the book set for release on 2013 as well!!! This is one of the few books that I actually want to see on the big screen. The story demands a movie and I just hope the producers do it proper justice, not to mention, THE CAST. I’m still rallying for Ben Barnes as Marco Alisdair but I can’t really decide who to cast as Celia Bowen. Looks like I’ll just have to wait and see.

If you’re a huge fan of fiction, especially fantasy and magic, then this book would surely be a great read for you.

“The circus arrives without warning.” Dun dun dun dun….

9 comments

  1. You want a love like that? Welcome to the forever alone and hopeless romantics club haha, I really am both of those things but I do not doubt you will find someone.

    1. Hahaha I hope the same thing for you as well. While I do enjoy living my live vicariously through these fictional characters, I do think it’s time I apply these feelings to a real-life relationship.

      1. Same here, its strange when you have a crush on a character from a book you are writing, and I would like to like someone I could actually hug if I needed one.

      2. My feelings exactly 🙂 I mean it’s not like your feelings end once you close the book. They’re still there and it’s such a waste that there’s no one or some relationship you can give and apply it to.

      3. Agreed, although I think I am forever alone.

  2. I like the book cover.. and the synopsis is pretty interesting.. But im not really a romance reader.

    1. To each his own. Who knows, you might end up liking this one 🙂

    2. IAmGhost120 · · Reply

      I think you would like this one. I’m not big into romance myself, but this one is different…I can only describe it as fantastical. It’s not sappy, and there’s enough going on with the other characters to fill out the romance and distract from it. I really liked it, though. =)

      1. I agree! 🙂 Like I said the love story didn’t even begin until the middle part. Don’t worry, it’s not just a mere circus version of Twilight if that’s what you’re thinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

