Looking for Alaska & The Great Perhaps

Let me start by saying, if you’re a huge John Green fan, you might want to start with this book before reading “The Fault In Our Stars”.

I was on a John Green high (if there’s such a thing) after reading ‘The Fault In Our Stars’, and as you can see from my post dedicated to that book, I was really attached to the story, the writing, the characters, and basically everything about it. And so I decided to take a break from my usual fantasy-filled fiction books and go for more “reality-based” ones namely John Green’s books. I’ve heard and read a lot of great things about ‘Looking for Alaska’ so I made this my “rebound read” after the tear-fest that was ‘The Fault In Our Stars’. Making it my ‘rebound read’ was kind of a wrong decision ’cause it ended up falling short from my expectations.

I do think that if I read this one before TFIOS (The Fault in our Stars), I would’ve felt much more differently. I know, I’m weird, and I have weird feelings and attachment to fictional stories and characters. But in any case, this is still a great read! Hah, don’t let my weird sequencing conditions hinder you from reading ‘Looking for Alaska’ because the whole story and the way it was written is still pure gold.

The setting is different but the theme of LFA (Looking for Alaska) revolving around death made it even hard for me to detach myself from the setting of TFIOS. The main difference, however, was that (SPOILER) death came in a bit early in the story and a huge part of the story revolved at how the ones who were left deal with the sudden death. The latter part of the story, wherein how the characters dealt with the sudden death was highlighted, is actually my favorite part of the story. I think that’s when everything came together and somehow made full circle.

One of my favorite concepts (ideologies?) from this book was the search and conquest for ‘The Great Perhaps’. And I do think that was what the whole story was all about. In addition, this was also the main concept that I found most relatable to as well. We’re all in search for our ‘Great Perhaps’, and sometimes without knowing, we’re actually closer to discovering it than we think. It’s not that we’re lost when it comes to what direction or path to take in our lives, I think it’s that we’re not opening up more to possibilities and opportunities that are right in front of us. But enough of my life ramblings, here are some of the excerpts that stood out to me:

And just as you’d expect from a John Green book, here are some of my favorite quotable quotes and dialogues from ‘Looking for Alaska’:

–…thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.

–To not be continued.

–Anger just distracts from the all-encompassing sadness.

–That is the fear: I have lost something important, and I cannot find it, and I need it.

–And he couldn’t know, because he wasn’t the last person she kissed, because he hadn’t been left with an unkeepable promise, because he wasn’t me.

–You can’t just make me different and then leave.

–For she had embodied the great perhaps–she had proved to me that it was worth it to leave behind my minor life for grander maybes, and now she was gone and with her my faith in perhaps. 

–You left me Perhapsless, stuck in your goddamned labyrinth.

–You can’t burn down a made-up place.

Because memories fall apart, too. And then you’re left with nothing, left not even with a ghost but with its shadow.

–When you stopped wishing things wouldn’t fall apart, you’d stop suffering when they did.

–I’d finally had enough of chasing after a ghost who did not want to be discovered.

–…some mysteries aren’t meant to be solved.

–She didn’t leave me enough to discover her, but she left me enough to rediscover the Great Perhaps.

–After all this time, it still seems to me like straight and fast is the only way out–but I choose the labyrinth. The labyrinth blows, but I choose it. 

Don’t you just love it how fiction and make-believe provide you with a better understanding and insight to your reality? That was what this book was for me. 

Now I’m still reading other books but I’m on the lookout for my next John Green read. Any suggestions?

 

One comment

  1. Johnc109 · · Reply

    I loved your blog article. Really Cool. cbdcfedfegag

Leave a Reply

