May the odds be ever in your favor!

I finished the Hunger Games trilogy in 4 days, real or not real? REAL! I basically became obsessed with the whole story ever since I randomly decided to buy the first book and I have to thank my friend Blu for insisting that it was a good read. Can’t believe how much I was drawn into the world of Katniss, Peeta & Gale that I found it really hard to withdraw from it after I finished reading Mockingjay. Needless to say, I got depressed ’cause it felt like I was forcibly pulled out from a beautiful adventure and I really really did not want to leave at all. (Highlight: DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE).

Thank God that the trilogy was an international success and it was just a matter of time before a big production company buys the rights to make it into a movie. So in lieu of my recent obsession, I have joined all the hardcore fans in playing the wonderful game of predicting who will be cast into the movie. I only based my wishful predictions according to the actors and actresses I’ve actually watched so there won’t be any upcoming/unknown celebs on my list… but if they (director & producers) eventually choose relatively unknown people and they do fit the characters, I will openly give them my full support. I want nothing more than to give justice to the characters and the story anyway.

So let the games begin! (I just needed to include this btw).

KATNISS EVERDEEN

: I tried hard and long to think of other possible actresses to fill in Katniss Everdeen’s shoes but I only feel right with Kaya. And how can it not be, Kaya portrayed a very convincing “rebellious-slash-messed-up-inside” teen on Skins, right? Not to mention those eyes. O.O

Kaya Scodelario (Skins, Clash of the Titans)

All about the EYES.

Katniss and her braided hair.

GALE HAWTHORNE

: To think of someone who can do justice to Gale’s character was very hard since I really regarded Gale with such high esteem and because he was my bias and I was inlove with him also. I’m not fully satisfied with my 2 choices below, but with the way they portray their characters on their respective TV series, I think they can pull it off.

STEVEN R. MCQUEEN (The Vampire Diaries)

Gale in the woods.

Come to think of it, they kinda look alike.

PEETA MELLARK

: Again, I was torn with 2 options I’m not fully satisfied with but I do like both my predictions A LOT. I’m actually leaning more to Alex Pettyfer and all he needs is a little toning down with his masculinity since Peeta’s well, more of a softy compared to Gale. I won’t complain either if they chose Lucas Till, 2 words—that smile.

ALEX PETTYFER (Wild Child, I Am Number Four, Beastly)

I could totally see Peeta in this picture.

I might choose Peeta over Gale if this was him.

LUCAS TILL (‘You Belong to Me’ MV, Hannah Montana the movie)

It’s the smile, really.

HAYMITCH

: One of the most interesting characters in the whole trilogy and I automatically thought of these 2 actors that are very much appropriate for the role of Haymitch.

JOHNNY DEPP (genius)

No introductions needed.

HUGH LAURIE (House)

Though I must say, he looks more like Haymitch to me than Johnny Depp does.

CINNA

: I really fell for Cinna’s character and I believe he played a crucial role in how Katniss was molded to be the Mockingjay. I also really liked how Cinna was real and sincere in helping Katniss even if the price was his own safety. The way I envision Cinna is refined and has a certain air of mystery surrounding him and with kind eyes. I’d be overjoyed if any of my 2 options would get the chance to play him.

JUDE LAW (Alfie, Sherlock Holmes)

CILLIAN MURPHY (Inception, Red Eye)

As for Prim and Rue’s roles, I still can’t think of a specific child actress but I do think any child actress will do. All they have to do is to be very endearing so the people will be automatically attached to their characters. For President Snow, some names I can think of are Alec Baldwin, Billy Bob Thornton (I’m really scared of him as well so it helps), Anthony Hopkins even (his eyes can scare the sh*t out of me, think Hannibal Lecter) and maybe Alan Rickman or Ralph Fiennes (snake-ish features?). Effie Trinket for me can be played by fan favorites: Kristin Chenoweth and Amy Poehler, I can already hear their voices and see them in pink wigs. It would be interesting to see who they’ll cast as the other tributes especially for the Career Tributes, Thread and Foxface.

And this is just random, but I thought of her while trying to imagine who can be Katniss and Prim’s mother:

KELLY RUTHERFORD (Gossip Girl)

She can look both helpless and beautiful.

I’ll stop with this list first before I start thinking of other actors and actresses for the other characters in Catching Fire and Mockingjay. I really really just hope this won’t turn out to be a Twilight-ish movie with all the cringe-worthy acting of the actors. Please dear director and Lionsgate films, please give justice to the characters and story.

LET THE HUNGER GAMES BEGIN!

2 comments

  1. San napunta si James Franco? James Franco for Gale!!!

  2. Lucas till love you see

Leave a Reply

