Book Spotlight: Obsession (Arum #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

14060046

Obsession (Arum #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

BOOK BLURB:

He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something… unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter?

MY REVIEW:

Overall Rating: 5/5 — Definite must-read for all Lux series and JLA fans! 

I was fighting for Serena. She meant everything to me. Knowing that, fully understanding what that meant, I was on a motherfucking warpath.

tumblr_inline_mfejerUgH31r16w8d

Call me biased, but I’m almost sure that anything Jennifer Armentrout comes out with will be a sure 5-star read for me, and this one was no exception. I honestly did not know what to expect from this one considering I’m such a huge Daemon Black fangirl and I had a pretty blurry conception of what Arum were really like. But oh my gods, I was completely blown away and yes, I did switch to #TeamARUM somewhere along the way while reading this novel. And I have no regrets!

Jennifer was one sneaky woman in coming up with this novel because now I’m all confused with who’s who in the world of Luxen vs. Arum. I was in complete denial at first when Serena first encountered a deadly and evil Luxen but then things started spiralling downwards and my whole conception of the Luxen being the good guys completely shifted.

tumblr_m7ck85UAFx1rziwwco1_250

Then enter Hunter the ultimate badass Arum. I was really glad that I was finally enlightened with how they really looked like whether it’s in their human or alien form. Even with all his cockiness and arrogance (yes, he’s like Daemon Black on steroids), it wasn’t hard to fall for Hunter especially when he started getting all the warm and fuzzies because of Serena. It was even more endearing with him than with Daemon, primarily because Arum were born and bred to be very cold-blooded and unaffected that it was quite surprising to see his hard cold walls come down because of one frail-looking human. I also did love Serena right off the bat because even after everything that happened to her as well as everything she witnessed, she did not take on the victim attitude. Even though she feared for her life and was scared shitless of what Hunter could do to her, she still kept her chin held high and stayed strong with all of what she got.

The story was told in dual POVs, which helped a lot in understanding Hunter and the whole deal with Arums and their war against the Luxens. I was beyond enlightened and now things don’t seem to be just black and white anymore. Even thought most of the story revolved around Hunter and Serena hidden inside his cabin somewhere far away, it did have its fair share of action, which I thoroughly enjoyed of course. It was just so mesmerizing seeing Hunter lose all his cool and just turn into one motherfucking badass alien. Then there was this monumental action scene when I was just over the moon with how Hunter was like an avenging dark angel defeating all (and believe me there were A LOT in his way) that came in between him and saving Serena.

tumblr_m6wusg6ppI1rziwwco1_400

Serena was on her feet, her face pale, the bruises standing out in stark contrast, but she was alive.
And I loved her.
 

And yes, I suddenly burst into tears when he finally got to her. I mean come on, a hardass Arum actually fell in love… how can you not turn into mush because of that??

tumblr_m6g4wlDqqJ1rziwwco1_500

Oh and just in case you’re curious, yes there were a lot of hot and steamy scenes. Let’s just say that Jennifer really does have a fascination for steamy scenes conducted under water. You’ll be getting that and so much more. In addition, the action, twists, and suspense will really leave you seating at the edge of your seat as well. The big twist in this story really had me floored and became the perfect set-up for what would happen in Origin. AND YES, our one and only Daemon Black makes a brief appearance in this one and I was pleasantly surprised. Gods, I miss that boy so damn much. I really hope there’s more to Hunter and Serena’s story even though Jennifer said this was a standalone and not really that connected to Daemon’s story. Is it too much to ask for Hunter and Daemon to work together in the future? I mean according to Hunter,“Stranger things have been known to happen.”

tumblr_m6eys6MC6p1rziwwco1_500

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

